2001-04-1

Melissa Ferrick concert, posted at 12:11 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I'd forgotten how much I love live music. The Common Grounds Coffeehouse was an experience that I never will forget. It allowed me to channel my love of music into something that I took great pride in. I learned a lot and met a lot of great people. But it did do one negative thing - it made me somewhat immune to the effects of live music. Seeing multiple concerts every weekend made live music not quite as special as it once was. It became commonplace, ordinary. In the last year or so when I have not been directly involved with the CGC, I haven't been to many concerts. There was a fabulous Dar Williams show in October, a disappointing Dan Bern show on Halloween, and a disappointing Ani DiFranco show around that time too. But that was about it. Nothing in the last year or so other than that in terms of live music. Tonight, my love of live music has been envigorated. Like a heart defibrillator on a heart attack victim, Melissa Ferrick showed me tonight why music is our greatest artform. An intense performer with a damn fine voice and the best guitar skills I've ever had the privelage of hearing, Ferrick is incredible. Her energy is contagious, her talent is blazing, and her eroticism awakens the inner lesbian in all of us. From the first song, she had the audience in the palm of her hand. I loved every minute of it. I left the CGC drained, as if every emotion had been used during the show. Melissa Ferrick is funny, fast, passionate, and incredible. Thanks, Melissa, for reminding me what live music should sound like. This woman is phenomenal.