2000-07-10

Interview preparation, posted at 17:36:07

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Allow me to prepare for my interview...

"So, Mark, why are you waiting so long to apply to be a grad?"

Good question! The answer is many-folded. First of all, and primarily, I didn't know I could. I had no idea that someone student teaching could be a graduate assistant, simply because of rules I thought the department had. But, then I found out about two of my friends who had been accepted as grads as well as student teachers. After speaking with them about it, this was the primary impetus for me to apply.

There are some other reasons, too. Early in my third year in residence life, as an ASAC, I felt my creativity and love of the position plateau somewhat. I was somewhat disappointed in my new position, in that it didn't seem like much of a change of what I did as an RA. I wasn't given any opportunities for leadership on the staff, wasn't involved in the fall training, and in general just felt like I was in this lonely middle ground between the resident assistants and senior staff. This problem was compounded by my direct supervisors, which changed three times in the first three months of the job.

When finally there was no one else available to replace the last supervisor, I was given opportunities to take on a new role on the staff. I was now a full-fledged part of Senior Staff, had weekend duties, sat in the office, responded to emergencies, and oversaw my own programming substaff of 4 RA's. I was involved in the decision making. Finally, I felt like part of the staff, and didn't feel stifled anymore by the position. I began to enjoy residence life again, and ended the year on excellent terms that I couldn't have imagined happening in November.

This new love for staff leadership was extended this summer, when I accepted a Camp Supervisor position with Sports School. This is the most fun I've had in residence life ever. I'm out of my comfort area of Akers Hall, and am doing new things that I never did before. I'm working with a staff whose members are primarily African-American, and this has been another learning experience that has been a lot fun. Supervising a substaff of undergrads has been a way for me to stretch myself, and a good learning experience. It excites me that this learning experience could be extended during the school year as a graduate assistant.

I still believe in residence life, and still believe its positive impact on students and staff. It took the second semester and summer for me to realize this. That's why I decided to apply to be a grad.