2000-06-13

Weather permitting..., posted at 03:24:57

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

It's been a while since I updated, and I apologize.

It was a pretty wonderful weekend. On Saturday, Jason, Gale, and I went to Cedar Pointe with a large number of the summer camp staff. It was a fun trip. There at "The Pointe", I found myself pondering the phenomenon of roller coasters more than ever before. Basically, we enjoy them because they're scary as hell. In a way, we're cheating death by going on them. No one ever intended humans to drop at speeds of 90 miles per hour from heights of 300 feet at unbelievable angles. Yet we are. The something against nature about roller coasters. I don't think Aristotle would like them much. He wasn't much for unnatural entities.

Sunday was the official first day of summer camp, as about 40 kids came to the MSU swimming camp. It's our lightest week of the summer, and so far it's going very smoothly. I'm still amazed at how well the summer is going. I actually look forward to going in to work. I'm so glad I decided to do it.

Today was a rather dreary day, weather wise. After scorching heat on Saturday and Sunday (and my first sunburn of 2000 after the Cedar Pointe trip), the weather dipped to a rainy 65 degrees today. It was a bit of a mood killer. I'm beginning to think that I'm one of those people that needs sunshine to be happy -- I find myself losing energy and getting somewhat depressed with every dropping degree and every cloudy day. It's not like I'm going to run out and buy one of those heat/artificial sunlight lamps or anything, but it's something to think about. Today, I was late to my first class, got my first parking ticket in ages because I didn't want to walk far from a legal spot, skipped my second class, took a 2-hour nap, and went in for my second-to-last-day at Cuppa Java. Not a very impressive day. Had it been sunny, I certainly wouldn't have taken that nap and would have felt I had a more accomplished day. The weather is a primary reason I don't want to stay in Michigan my entire life. I hate dreary weather.

Had a couple of neat discoveries in the last couple days: rock band The Eels (one of the best albums I've heard in months) and Morningstar Farms sandwich pockets. They're wonderful. Sinead O'Connor's first full-length album in six years comes out on Tuesday. I'll be first in line to get it.

Life is still good.