2000-06-18

Old Friends, posted at 23:40:45

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I had a good weekend, much of it spent with old friends.

One of my best friends is getting married next week, and he, I, and our other friend went out to celebrate the end of his bachelorhood Friday. Drank a bit too much, had a lot of fun, and realized that they'll probably be my best friends for the rest of my life. I think you learn who your true friends really are by seeing how your relationship is once you get together after some time apart. Since living together our first few years in the dorms, we've seen our paths cede wildly away from each other... literally around the world and back. Our other groups of friends couldn't be more different. I chose the res life route for my "niche" in college, another chose the college sports route, and the other chose the Peace Corps. But the three of remain just as close as we always have been, five years later. As people, we can be quite different, but it doesn't affect our closeness. I don't know what I would have done in college without them.

I also hung out the other night this weekend with a completely different group of friends. These are friends I've made as an RA. We're a motley group as well, with one main thing we have in common (the job). The wedding we were at was one we all were waiting for for three years. I have different, more surface, relationships with these people. Though the bonds of friendship aren't as powerful with most of these people as they are with the folks I was talking about previously, I enjoy seeing them and catching up with their lives. While I'm not sure if I'll stay in touch with all of them all my life, they'll always be an important part of my college experience.

Oh, by the way, congratulations to Jenifer and Heath Alflen. They're the couple whose wedding I attended Saturday. I was an RA with them for two years. They've been engaged ever since I met them both in August 1997. A long engagement, but there was never any doubt that the two would marry. June 17, 2000 was a date that always loomed ahead in the future, a date that seemed like it would never come. But it did. And I'm very happy for Jen and Heath. They're great people who will be together for the next sixty years. I'm sure of it.