2000-10-23

Wow, I sure am writing a lot in here, posted at 03:00:55

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I'm talking a lot in here lately. I think the main thing is I don't have that many folks that I can talk to around me right now, and that Chicago weekend and my teaching and other stuff is burning in my mind. Plus, I was on duty all weekend so I'm sort of holed up with my thoughts. It's not bad, but I miss some of my old friends that I never get to see anymore, for just normal conversations. Gale, who has moved to Detroit and has a real job and everything. Kelly and Paul, who moved across campus but it might as well be the other side of the state. Erin, who has a new beau and travels across the country for conferences. Jason, my most unlikely friend, who is back home regretting his decision not to intern this year. Jenni, with whom things can never really be the same. I'm seeing Jake on Halloween night, and he's generally a nice calming presence with me - he grounds me, and truly is a great friend. Too bad I see him only a few times a year. And I'm going to the Common Grounds concert on Friday, and am looking forward to hanging out with Paul, Kelly, Ray, Kibibi, Kyeorda, and Nick - hopefully we'll hang out afterwards. Hint, hint - let's go out (I know a few of them read this). I wish I had more close friends. I wish it was easier for me to make good first impressions. I'm friendly with the ten other interns in my high school, but I've never been invited "out" with them. They're unfortunately nothing more than acquaintances at this pont. Perhaps my closest friend amongst them is in her mid-40's and married. I'm pretty good friends with the other AHD's in my building, but they've both got more fruitful outside lives than I do.

I'm feeling guilty because I just had a bowl of cereal before I went to bed. Not good. I'm getting obsessed with this whole weight loss thing, which can be nothing but a good thing as far as I'm concerned.