2000-04-30

What's My Age Again?, posted at 16:02:23

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I've decided after last entry to title each of these diary entries as a song title that I like. That should be fun. Anyhow, this song was one of my favorite "radio hits" of the last year. It's silly & fun.

Anyhow, it really does fit with this entry as well. My roomate and I for next year, Jason, went looking for apartments seriously for the first time on Friday. Well, we started at 3:30 on Friday afternoon, so we were rushed, and ended up only really getting in to see one place.

It was awful. Called "Village Green Apartments" and located right behind the Lansing Mall (Western edge of Lansing), the place is nice enough and all... but the saleswoman was transparent and the "add-ons" ridiculously priced.

The woman who spoke with us was one of those salesperson types that make your skin crawl -- trying to make bad jokes, being as fake as possible, etc. The kicker was when she asked if we were 18 years old. I'm 22, Jason's 23, we're both college grads... it's just embarassing. I don't think I look particularly young. And it wasn't just that she asked, it's the patronizing way in which she asked it. In fact, patronizing is the word that best describes her throughout the whole conversation. Ah well. The place was nice, but far too ritzy and pricey for us -- indoor pool, fitness room, tennis courts. Plus, they charge $20 a month for cats, and don't even allow dogs (that last fact is a travesty, as there's a beautiful park right behind it).

Anyhow, we won't be staying at Village Green.

Updates to follow.

mark