2000-04-29

Losing My Religion, posted at 17:32:30

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Last night was the last Common Grounds concert of the year, meaning the last Common Grounds concert before I graduate and move on to the greener pastures of Eastern High School.

When I look back at my college life, I think I'll look back at about five things that influenced my life the most. The RA position. Friends I've made. Certain English Education courses. My shift from being a teenage Republican to a bed-wetting liberal. But similar to the fact that my time on the staff of my high school newspaper (The Critic) is the thing that stands out like neon lights in my memories from high school, I think the Common Grounds will be my most memorable time in college.

It's the end of an era for me. I feel a wonderful sense of accomplishment from having a part of starting the venue from the ground up, and seeing it flourish. It's helped me to understand my strengths (diligence, persistance) and my weaknesses (sometimes I'm a pushover, I can't delegate responsibilities). It's also given me a "dream" that one day in my life I'd like to own my own music venue of some sort -- a coffeehouse/bar where people go to hear music and not to get drunk.

While I'll still be involved next year somewhat I'm sure (old habits die hard, plus a lot of my best friends in the world are on the staff), but this is sort of like the opening of a new door in my life.

I remember at the last Critic layout my senior year of high school, the three of us graduating seniors (Sara, Karen, and I -- the three who had been on board since the beginning) wrote farewell pieces. Karen was a huge R.E.M. fan, and decided to title her article with an appropriate R.E.M. song. She chose "It's the End of the World as we know it (and I feel fine)".

I'll choose another right now that I think is more appropriate for my feelings right now.

Hence, the title of this entry.

Talk to you soon,

Mark