2000-08-15

New Job & New Place, posted at 04:01:27

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

It's been a long time since my last entry, and much has happened.

First, I really enjoy my new position. So far, it's basically just been training. Still, it's good to know that the start-of-the-year excitement that I have for res life has not vanquished. I hope I can ride this wave of positive momentum throughout the entire first semester, before the seemingly inevitable stumbling block of exhaustion comes about. I am also lucky enough to have been placed in the same building with a friend from way back, and that has made things even better. In addition, my entire senior staff seems pretty darn cool.

Second, I really don't like my new place. The apartment is very small - smaller than I've lived in for nearly four years - and I can't fit all my stuff there. Besides, there's no ethernet connection. Yes, I'm living in one of the four buildings on campus without an ethernet connection. It's set for Summer 2001. By that time, I hope to be secured in my first full time teaching job. Oh well. The inconvenience of having to dial in is something I've never had to face (I bought my first computer after I moved into an ethernet-ready hall), so it will take some getting used to. Perhaps it will make me get out more. On the plus side of the new apartment is the newly remodeled kitchen, which features my first ever full-size refridgerator. I can now make ice cubes!

Moving has been a big bummer. I hate it. I'm at my home in South Haven right now, quietly celebrating my birthday (it's official... I write this at 12:02am, 23 years to the day after I was born) with my family. Tomorrow, I'm going to spend some time with my grandparents, who will be making me dinner and taking me back-to-school shopping. Woo-hoo! I haven't been back-to-school shopping since high school. We're going to buy me a teaching outfit.

Otherwise, things are just inordinately busy, but rather good. Only three days left of my undergraduate career. Yeehaw!