2000-10-08

Less of Mark, posted at 00:32:52

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I've lost 25 pounds since August.

I am feeling wonderful. I hate talking about "weight"-y issues, even though it's something that is always in the back of my head. Somehow, I've always thought I would be happier if I could be one of those people who could naturally have a high metabolism and not be overweight. But I'd pretty much resigned myself to forever fatness, or at least to the "I'll lose weight when I get around to it" mode.

Well, I've apparently got around to it. And I feel wonderful about it. I've got a long ways to go, but I'm working out every day and feeling better than I have in year. Literally.

The capping moment for me was when I saw Mark Burley, a wonderful guy I hadn't seen in about six months, and he told me how healthy I was looking and asked me if I had been working out. I walked on a cloud for a few hours after that.

I have money and I'm spending too much of it. Otherwise, things are really good. Life is good.

I went to see Dar Williams with Kelly last week. Much better than expected. In fact, I had a great time. The concert was excellent, and seeing a friend I rarely get to see was also fun. Now, I'm convinced I should go see Dan Bern on Halloween night. Anyone wanna go?

I'm currently putting together a big ol' project on protest literature for my class, and of course it's a lot of fun. Any time I can bring Tracy Chapman, Paul Beatty, Sinead O'Connor, and Gil Scott-Heron into the classroom in the same week means I'm excited.