2000-05-14

Another Saturday night and I ain't got nobody., posted at 02:35:41

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

By the subject of this message, you can probably see I'm wallowing in my one-ness some more. I'm not sure why. I'm kind of feeling antisocial, but at the same time want to be doing stuff with people. I turned down an invite tonight to go to the bar, and turned out an invite the other night to get drunk and rent movies. Both probably would have been fun. I'm not sure why I said no. Anyhow, I can't wait until Monday and I start getting some more social-ness into my life.

It was a good day, though. I went with my Dad and a bunch of his work friends to a Tiger game. They even won, beating the World Champion New York Yankees 6-3. It was a good game. Our seats kind of stunk, but we eventually moved and the new ones were much better. I love baseball. I so wish that the Tigers were a better team, but I know in my heart they never will be until there's a major front office overhaul. This won't happen until the Tigers get even worse, so I'm in this weird spot now where I'm hoping they win and hoping they lose. Anyhow, it was good spending time with my father. Some of my best memories of the late eighties was going to Tiger Stadium with my dad, so it was neat to begin a new era at a new place. And, gosh, it was beautiful.

On the other hand, I dragged ass all day. For some reason, my insomnia keeps getting worse and worse. I was *exhausted* when I got home the other day from work, and swore I would go to bed early. I spent some time on-line, unplugged my phone, and went to bed at around 11pm. This is unheard of for me, going to bed this early. I was exhausted. But I didn't fall asleep until 1:30am or so, after taking drugs. I hate taking sleeping pills, but I have to sometimes, and their effects seem to be wearing off.

I also got offered a position working in the sports camps again. I worked in band camps three summers ago, sports camps two summers ago, and academic camps one summer ago. I'm back over to sports. I swore after the horrible summer of depression last year that I never would do camps again, but I never seem to plan ahead for my summers and end up doing what comes easiest. On the other hand, this is a promotion and a considerable pay raise, and the stress of figuring out where I'm going to live after Akers kicks me out is over. The pay is decent. I'm finding myself quite excited about the job, in spite of myself. I still love kids, and I think a lot of my problems from last year resulted from the fact that I wasn't on the front lines with them anymore. This year, I'll be working closely with them. The job does wear down on you, but I'm excited about it. Wish me luck.

I'm hoping tomorrow is nice.

I was going to go to the movies tonight, but Andy couldn't go, so I rented "The Straight Story". It was phenomenol. It's one of those films that restores my faith in film making. I'll be putting it on my top ten list.

Anyhow, the weekend has been okay.