2002-06-09

The Zooish pub crawl, posted at 1:22 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

So, Friday night was ridiculously and almost embarassingly fun.

Josh, Jeremy, Nick, and I completed the Fell's Point zoo-ish pub crawl. We went to every bar named after an animal. It was a complete and total blast.

Josh, Jeremy, and I started drinking at home, consuming some lemonade slurpee mix and raspberry stoli that Kristin had given us as a gift. We each had a shot of tequila. We decided that we not only would be taking a cab home, but that we would also take it in to Fell's Point.

We met Nick and his friend at Crabby Dick's, and proceeded to have a drunk at every bar. Seven of them. I drank more than I had in an awful long time, and had a wonderful night.

Here are some highlights and lowlights:

*Telling Jeremy on the way home that "I know things have been weird lately, but let's just fucking forget it. I'm going to miss you a lot. You're one of my best friends."

*Telling Nick about this diary. Hopefully he won't ask about it again.

*Realizing that it was 1am and we still had to go to three more places and have a drink, and then doing it.

*Nick and I were asked if we were twins. That was bizarre.

*Josh was hilarious. Nick, Josh, and I sat on our front porch for a long time after returning. Nick slept on our couch.

*Dancing with some girl at the Green Turtle on the way to the bathroom.

*Nick and I buying drinks for Jeremy and Josh, then realizing they had them already and having to drink them ourselves.

I had a great time. It was a fitting end to Jeremy's time here in Baltimore. We ended it like we started it. I feel like things are okay with us again.

See, I told you that we drink well together. I think that sometimes, guys just need to get drunk together to patch things up. It works for Jeremy and I.

Well, he's gone - he left on Saturday morning. I ended up going to the Book Thing early on Saturday, then coming back and giving Nick a ride home. I then was able to attend my school's graduation ceremony, and go to an Orioles game last night. That's not too bad for having a hangover and only getting four hours of sleep (I'm estimating, since I have no idea what time I went to bed. I just know we closed down the last place - The Horse You Came in On - then took a cab home and stayed up for more than an hour on the front porch).

Graduation was nice. A lot of teacher complained about the wildly unruly parents, but seeing them cheer and scream as their child crossed the stage really made me happy. I knew only three seniors, and wasn't particularly close with any of them (they were all on my baseball team, but weren't amongst the kids I knew the best), yet I got really emotional at graduation and almost cried. It's going to be quite an experience in four years when I see my current freshmen graduate. I will be balling.

Tonight, I'm off to see this band called Piebald at the 9:30 Club in DC. Hopefully it'll be fun. The band seems pretty good, and I'm going with Mike and Josh.

Only four days left of school!