2002-10-25

Paul Wellstone, posted at 5:05 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I'm pretty bummed out about Paul Wellstone's death. I had never before heard of the guy before last weekend, when I caught a long NPR story about the Senate race in Minnesota. I've never even been to Minnesota, but I was so intrigued by the guy that I stayed in the parking lot long after arriving to hear the rest of the feature and have been checking out his website in the past week. He seemed like such a passionate man with deep convictions, someone who wasn't afraid to be the only one to disagree with something. I respect that, and the fact that he held liberal viewpoints similar to my own certainly didn't hurt the matter. I wished he was my Senator.

He died young, but at least he'll be able to say categorically that the world was a better place for having him in it, which should be the goal of everyone in life.