2002-02-20

Topics, posted at 12:11 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Topics in my life right now:

1) Working out. Wow. I am really sore. Since joining the gym on Monday, I have had three really good workouts. They've been full workouts, with 30-45 minutes of cardio (eliptical machine) and an hour or more of weightlifting (both freeweights and machines). I'm loving it. I've been working out at home and at school occasionally, but this is adding a degree of consistency and intensity to my workouts that I haven't had since before I sprained my ankle. This is a good thing, especially since getting on the scale yesterday revealed that I'd gained six pounds since the new year. I'm so glad I joined the new gym.

2) Work. Ack. After the drop-in observation yesterday morning from my principal, I had another drop-in this morning from my department head. I've been on top of lessons and planning things well so far this semester, but that still doesn't lessen the nervousness associated with an observation. I'm not sure why I've been hit twice in two days; I'll have to ask around a bit. I hope it's just a sort of "get it out the way" type of sentiment, rather than a "he's doing something really bad" attitude.

3) Jeremy. He's down again. He and his new woman broke it off. He seemed relieved by that, but I still think it eliminates what's been keeping his mind off the job situation. Now, he's focused just on that, and the news hasn't been good. He's decided he wants to start teaching again, but learned that no school in the state can hire him for a year because he broke his contract by quitting. So now he's actually looking for jobs out of state. This may or may not be a good thing. He could commute (drives to DC or Virginia or West Virginia or Pennsylvania would be doable), or he could move. He brought up the latter last night. He still says he'll pay rent, if he does choose that option. We'll see. On the way out of the gym this morning, he was heading in there to see about personal training jobs.

4) Exhaustion. The gym has been great and all about making me feel healthier and better about myself. But getting up before 5am, in order to get to the gym at 5:30am, has made me very tired. I get home exhausted. I have a volleyball game tonight, but I don't think I'm going to go (besides, my check bounced, so I'm sort of embarrassed... but that's another story altogether). I took a nap yesterday so I could stay up for another fantastic episode of 24, but then couldn't fall asleep until after midnight. I hate to take sleeping pills, so I haven't stooped to that. More and more, I've been wanting to just lay down in the back office and nap during my planning period. Aren't you all lucky I decided to journal instead?

5) I'm fighting with my parents and I can't stand it. Actually, to be more accurate, we're not speaking. At all. It's about money, which makes it suck even more. I feel like I can't call them until I can pay them, and they're certainly not making matters easier. Ugh.