2002-10-10

Back in the swing of things, posted at 4:31 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I'm finally starting to feel back in the swing of things. I felt like I was in a cloud yesterday, and felt pretty exhausted. The lesson went extraordinarily yesterday, though, and today was much the same. Today I did a powerpoint presentation, and because the computer hooked up to a TV was in use, I had to do it on the laptop. This, surprisingly, worked quite well. I walked around with it, showing off every slide as if I was showing the illustration off in a children's book to a class of 1st graders. Kids huddled around in the dark, intent on seeing the next slide. I was pretty happy with how it turned out.

The day continued to go well after school, as a kid I had last year but hadn't seen this year walked by, glanced in, looked at me quixotically, and said, "Dang, Mr. E, you slimmed down a lot from last year!" This was after five days out in the woods with kids who said my arms were "mad big" and my calves were "bigger than I don't know what," so my self-confidence in my appearance is feeling pretty high right now. Though I'd still like to get my last 15 off...

While I was away on my trip, I was elected to the School Improvement Committee as one of the faculty reps. I'm not sure how this happened, since I'm only a second-year teacher and feel like I don't know many of the 90-member faculty. But I'll take it. The problem is, the first meeting is tonight at 6pm. Ugh. Ugh. Ugh.

As if I don't already have enough catching up to do. I'm home now, because I figured I didn't want Holden to have to go the whole afternoon without going out.

Tobey is sitting on my lap, purring and rubbing his head across my arms. Have I mentioned how much I love my cat? What a great cat he is. I can't believe I've never had a cat before. I came home from my trip to find that he wasn't in the house. I immediately called my roommate, who was supposed to be watching him, and he didn't know where he was. Apparently he was there in the morning when he left. So I walked around the block a few times with Holden, but there was no sign of Tobey. I finally went down the block behind my house, and saw Tobey sitting on someone's porch, rubbing against the legs of the strangers there. The woman said he'd been there an hour, and was the friendliest cat she'd ever seen. I thanked her, and was surprised by how much his absence had freaked me out. I still am not positive how he got out, but I'm pretty sure it was from the broken window I've got. Anyhow, all is well now. Tobey has even taken quite a shine to Holden. He's rubbing up against him now in that way cats do. Holden gets a little freaked out by it, but he'll get used to it. Maybe they will fulfill my goal of them becoming gay, inter-species, neutered lovers.