2002-07-27

Slam, posted at 12:22 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Today was my unconventional teaching day.

In my senior class, I showed the film Slam. If someone important had walked into my classroom, I probably would have been in trouble. The film uses the F-word around 200 times or so. I knew the film was rated R, but the reasons were language and not violence/nudity, and I sent home letters at the beginning of the summer explaining that I would show the film.

The two young men enjoyed the movie, and I was very glad I showed it. I think everyone should watch that movie, but I think it's even more important for young African-American males. Part of the theme of the film is the trap that a lot of these young men fall into, and how important it is to recognize that it is a trap, and be able to escape from it. The kids were obviously affected by the film, and I was too. I'd seen it before, but not in probably a couple of years, and was surprised by how powerful it continues to be for me. The film has this realistic, sort of unprofessional feel to it that is at times frustrating - I had a hard time understanding the speakers at times, and it felt too much like a documentary at others - but that same sort of realism really creates some raw, powerful moments. A good example is a scene in which the two main characters are having a loud, incredibly powerful argument in a Washington DC alley. The argument is intense, with screaming and hugging and crying. Towards the end of the scene, a kid on a bike rides by right in between them. Was it supposed to happen? Did the kid just happen to be riding his bike there, the director not wanting to yell "Cut" and lose the momentum of the scene? I wasn't sure. But that sort of authenticity worked well for the film. And the poetry is incredible. This is a film that depicts the power of language in ways I've never seen before.

My junior class today consisted of one girl. We worked on some closing Catcher in the Rye activities. It was her birthday, and I had brought in a cake and some Berger's cookies for the class (which usually has two students in it, but today only had one). Unfortunately, I didn't know the girl didn't eat chocolate. Oops. She took the cake home for her family, though.

Anyhow, she asked for a ride home, and I gave it to her since it was her birthday and all and administrators have never given any teacher a problem about that sort of thing before. (Actually, I'm pretty sure I dropped her off at her girlfriend's house, but I didn't ask.) I let her pick a CD to listen to. She chose Eminem, who, like Slam, also is not known for the appropriateness of his language use.

As I heard him say one curse word after another, I became really glad I taught in an urban school in terms of what I'm allowed to do in the classroom. Parents, if they're involved, trust the teachers. It has its drawbacks, but if I taught in a suburban school, there's no way I would have gotten away with anything I did today. There's no way I would have been able to show Slam, there's no way I would have been able to drive home that student.

Is this a good thing or a bad thing? Well, I know my kids learned today - a lot. I know they can take something from my class today that they probably wouldn't have encountered otherwise. I think that's important. Not bad for a rainy Friday morning.

***

Other news...

I'm dogsitting right now for an annoying little dog that makes Holden go and hide in the basement and who is so nervous around me that he piddles everywhere. I don't like him much at all.

I'm surprised how much of a cat person I've become. I still prefer dogs, but having a cat definitely has its advantages. Today, Tobey curled up on my chest during my afternoon nap. Laid there and purred through the whole thing. It was a great way to spend a lazy rainy afternoon.

By the way, the little dog had to be put into his cage so I could take a nap. He's the type who never sits down, it seems, and is so eager for attention that he just doesn't leave you alone. That's why I like Holden so much - he's laid back, enjoys your company but doesn't feel deprived if your focus is not on him 100% of the time. I guess it's because the little dog's still young; I should probably be a littel easier on him. Poor Holden, though. At least he's getting plenty of exercise this weekend.

Artscape is this weekend. It's purported to be the largest arts festival in the world. I'm not sure if that's true, but I sure am excited. I'm seeing Dar Williams at 4:30, Me'shell Ndegeocello at 7:00, and India.Arie at 9:00. All for free, all outside on the grass. I'm pumped about it.