Sunday, Jan. 05, 2003

New Year's Resolutions 2003, posted at 5:31 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

My 2003 New Year's Resolutions:

1) Help Holden lose ten pounds.

2) Work out more after school in the school weight room.

3) Incorporate a Word-of-the-Day to my curriculum.

4) Run at least 15 miles a week - no excuses.

5) Keep my house in workable condition at all times.

6) Wash my chalkboards or make a student wash them at least twice a week.

7) Continue to get finances in order. Begin paying off student loans. Stop fearing phone calls from creditors.

8) Find something to do this summer that is envigorating while being relaxing, high-paying while being fairly mindless, and flexible so I can travel. Not summer school.

9) See a movie a week.

10) See a concert a month not in my own house.

11) Return e-mails more quickly.

12) Be a more aggressive and proactive baseball coach.

13) Take risks. Stop feeling like the addressee in the lyrics of every forlorn female folksinger I hear, especially Lisa Loeb.

14) Get an eye exam and go to the dentist.

15) Read the following books: Seraph on the Suwanee, Independence Day, Go Tell It On a Mountain, The Lovely Bones, Lies My Teacher Told Me, A Prayer for Owen Meanie, and Infinite Jest.