2002-04-30

Overwhelmed, posted at 1:47 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Man oh man, am I ever feeling overwhelmed.

First, I'll start with the good stuff, since I don't want this to be a whinefest.

Last night's Patty Griffin concert was unbelievable. She is an incredible performer with a voice that sears my soul. Her performance was much better than the other time I had seen her - at Ann Arbor's The Ark - and I was impressed there. Last night, I was emotionally overwhelmed at times.

Best moments: her cover of Bruce Springsteen's "Stolen Car," which is certainly one of the saddest songs ever writter; her performances of "Mad Mission" and "Making Pies" with the full band; and her solo performance of "Poor Man's House." Griffin has this unapologetically emotive and old-fashioned voice that reminds me of Patsy Cline. But Griffin has more range and her music is less twangy than Cline's, so I enjoy it even more.

Anyhow, the concert was great. But I didn't get back until after midnight. I overslept through my 4:45am alarm and missed my morning workout. I made it to school early enough to plan a pretty decent lesson today, but don't have much of an idea yet of what my long-range goals are with this unit and this isn't a good thing since I'm two days into it already.

Tonight, we have a double-header baseball game and then I have to drive to Canton and be present for a lottery to determine if my softball team with my friends gets a chance to play this summer. There are 26 slots and something like 80 teams, so they're determining which teams get to play. I have to go there tonight, because somehow all responsibility for the team has fallen on me.

(Ugh)

I hope to make it home for a 9pm showing of 24, but I'm not optimistic. I also have literally a whole huge box of To Kill a Mockingbird soundtracks and essay tests to grade, and haven't even started yet. I'd say that this weekend will be my savior, but I'm planning on going to NYC for at least a day to see a Yankees game. I've never been there, so I'm excited, but feeling a bit daunted.

I also can't see what color my desk is, because it's covered with junk.

Getting only 4.5 hours of sleep last night hasn't done much for my energy level, either. Neither has the skipped workout, which has the snowballing effect of making me eat worse all day.

Oh yeah, one more thing. So, we make the kids buy their own books here. Yeah, it sucks, I know. Kids have a tough time getting to book stores since they can't drive, so I offered to pick some up for them today during lunch. Oops. I drove all the way out to Towson, only to find that both Greetings & Readings, Borders, and Barnes & Noble had only a combined two copies of Their Eyes Were Watching God. First of all, this really sucks. It's an American classic. Secondly, I feel guilty for not ordering them ahead of time. Thirdly, I wasted all ninety minutes of planning I had today on a wild goose chase around town. And now I've got 10-15 kids without books, and this sucks.

I'm so exhausted, I can't write any more.