2002-01-10

Music Survey, posted at 3:52 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Fun little survey I copied from Barenaked's site:

1. Favorite music?: singer-songwriter stuff, usually. I'm more of a lyrics person than anything - I love poetry, love hearing singers sing their own stuff. Anything passionate - I love love songs, songs about social injustice, and songs whose lyrics alone could be great poems. I also enjoy jazz and blues. My newest favorite musical style is neo-soul.

1.5 Favorite artists/bands? Brenda Kahn, Weezer, Counting Crows, Suzanne Vega, Sinead O'Connor, Wally Pleasant, Ben Harper, Bruce Springsteen, Jeff Buckley, Melissa Ferrick, Dan Bern, Ani DiFranco, Kristin Plater, Nirvana, Juliana Hatfield, Maggie Estep, Macy Gray, Erykah Badu, John Mayer, Harry Chapin, Janis Joplin, The Beatles, Alanis Morissette, Patty Griffin, Old 97's, Wilco, Ella Fitzgerald, Billie Holiday, 19 Wheels, Soul Asylum, Tracy Chapman, Aimee Mann, Fiona Apple, Violent Femmes, The Murmurs,

2. Do you enjoy concerts?: Love them

3. What was the last/next concert you (have/will) attended?: last: Melissa Ferrick/Dan Bern at Fletcher's on 11/16... I don't have a next one planned :(

4. Music you couldn't live without?: Probably Brenda Kahn. Although the rest of the planet seems to do a pretty good job of living without her (why isn't this woman a star?)

5. Kind of music that would fall off the face of the earth and you wouldn't care nor miss it?: death metal

6. About how many CDs do you own?: It's been a while since I attempted to count. I'd guess 1200.

7. How many CDs can your stereo hold at a time?: five

8. Do you have a discman?: no

9. What CD could you listen to for hours?: Brenda Kahn, "Epiphany in Brooklyn"

10. Can you sing well?: not well. but that doesn't stop me.

How many CDs do you own by...

11. Sublime? two

12. the Beatles? one

13. Tool? none.

14. Eminem? none (but thinking about purchasing)

15. Incubus? none

16. Blink 182? one

17. Everclear? four

18. Weezer? all three plus a couple import singles

19. the Ataris? don't even know them

20. RATM? none. i admire their politics, but think zach de la rocha sounds like an angry muppet.

21. Less than Jake? none

22. New Found Glory? 0

23. Linkin Park? 0

24. Radiohead? one

25. Rancid? 0

26. KoRn? 0

27. Limp Bizkit? 2

28. the Living End? 0

29. MxPx? 0

30. Foo Fighters? 0

31. Green Day? three

32. Eve 6? 0

33. sum 41? 0

34. No Doubt? one

35. Nine Inch Nails? 0

What lyric comes to your mind when you hear...

36. Goo Goo Dolls? "the young man sitting in the old man's bar, waiting for his turn to die..."

37. Lifehouse? "Desperate for changing, longing for truth" and "I'm standing here until you make me move"

38. Saves the Day? huh

39. Staind? "its been a while since I could hold my head up high..."

40. LFO? don't know 'em

41. Beatles? "something in the way she moves me, lets me know there can be no other"

42. Papa Roach? not sure

43. The Bloodhound Gang? "we don't need no water, let the motherfucker burn"

44. Oasis? "because, maybe, you're gonna be the one to save me... cuz, afterall, you're my wonderwall..."

45. Master P? don't know him

46. Our Lady Peace? the guy has the whiniest voice ever

47. The Verve Pipe? "for the life of me, i cannot remember, what made us think that we were wise and we wouldn't compromise..."

48. Limp Bizkit? "it's my way... my way or the highway"

49. Blink 182? "nobody loves you when you're 23..."

50. Marilyn Manson? "the beautiful people, the beautiful people"

51. 311? can't place one of their songs right now

52.Snoop Dogg? ditto

53. The Fugees? "one time, two times."

Either/OR

54. Britney or Christina? Oh god. At least Christina can sing.

55. Punk or rock? rock

56. Edited or un-edited? un-edited!

57. Backstreet Boys or N Sync? N-Sync. I hated all boy bands for years, but I really thought the song "Pop" was brilliant.

58. Nick or Justin? justin

59. Live or on TV? live!

60. Indoors or out? I don't much like outdoors concerts unless I'm not hugely into the band. Inside and intimate is what I like.

By the way, the entire list of lyrics has not one female on it. I think that's ridiculous. But, otherwise, it was a fun survey.