Monday, Jan. 06, 2003

It's all about me, me, me, me, posted at 9:51 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I'm not good at keeping cards, so I wanted to remember what my little sister wrote me today in her thank you card:

(Epiphany)-

Hello. How are you? I just wanted to thank you again for the great Christmas presents. I am using everything you got me. The candle holder is on the kitchen table & the candles, being green, match our walls perfectly. I use the mirror all the time too. Its really neat. If i mentioned everything I would be writing forever. So thank you for it all. Janelle has a laptop computer so hopefully I will be getting the internet soon. Then I will have e-mail. We are getting settled in our apartment well. Classes start Wed. the 8th so I am excited. I have surgery this Monday the 6h. So hopefully that will be OK. I just have to get through this shit. Well, I will talk to you soon. Thank you for all the help moving. I love you bro!

Love Heidi

What the hell? She's having surgery today? And no one told me? I knew it was planned - some cancerous growths up her "kootchie," as she likes to say. Fairly routine. But damn, I gotta call.

Okay, just got off the phone, and she's woozy but okay. Phew.

Since I'm in the posting what other people write about me mood, I'll show something else that cheered me up the other day. I did a search for the name of my house concert series, and this came up in a blog:

October 20, 2002

Good singer/songwriter at Baltimore house concert

Since I went for the crazy ritzy night out on Friday, I opted for a calmer, more intimate scene on Saturday.

I drove up to Baltimore for (name of series, figure it for yourself), a monthly series of house concerts that specializes in acoustic singer/songwriter types. The concerts are hosted at the place of a cool guy (egotistical note: that would be me) who used to book performers at a campus venue.

Saturday's performer was Sam Shaber, a very talented folk/rock artist. If I were to draw comparisons to other artists, I would say Dar Williams with perhaps a touch of a not-pissed-off Ani Difranco.

I've been to one other (name of series) show, and I hope to attend more. The shows usually attract around two dozen people who sit on couches and on the floor. The house isn't huge, but the space is comfortable for the numbers.

There's no barrier whatsoever between audience and performer, and this contributes to a friendly, casual atmosphere (as does the potluck - people are encouraged to bring food and/or booze).

The casualness of the night was most apparent when the house cat (to all you readers, this would be Tobey) started wailing along with the performance. Sam was singing about the desert, and she quipped that the cat was singing the part of the desert coyotes.

All in all, the show was a nice compliment to swanky overpriced dance club night.

***

So, I guess this would qualify as the first review of the venue, eh? Sam Shaber is returning on March 7, by the way, for all you Baltimoreans who might be interested.