2002-03-23

I love this town!, posted at 12:52 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Story of last night:

Nick and I made plans to go to Looney's in Canton to watch the Maryland game. I stayed at school until 7pm, getting caught up on work. Then I went home. Went to sleep for a bit. Woke up at 9pm. Called Teri. Yes, she wants to go. She'll drive, she says. Cool, I say. Can't talk Jeremy into going. He's being a putz. I make myself some coffee so I can make it through the night without keeling over asleep.

We get to the bar at 9:45. It's packed like sardines. I thought we'd be waiting for a while for Nick, who was picking a friend at the airport whose flight came in at 9:45. He said, "Oh, I'll be there a little after ten." We made fun of him for that comment. I haven't been to an airport in a while either, but I know not to be that optimistic.

Anyhow, much to my suprise, Felicity and Randy were there. I think I called them something different before, but they'll be Felicity and Randy from now on. Felicity's real name is also an uncommon name with a lot of syllables, while Randy's real name starts with R. I'll be able to remember these better. Anyhow, Felicity and Randy are both from Michigan - Randy is a friend of Nick's, that's how I met them. They're engaged, just recently, but have been together for years. She's a flight attendant, he's a teacher. They're really cool people.

Felicity came over to me from across the crowded room, hugged me, and dragged me over to the space of wall that they had carved a niche at. Jay and Laura were also there; Jay's an old friend of Nick's who I had met once previously. Laura was new to me.

We ordered pitchers of watered-down beer and began watching the game. It was such a fun night.

The highlights:

I talked with Felicity all night. Randy is a lucky man - what a catch she is. She's pretty, she's fun to talk to, she's funny. The two of us may share a ride back from Michigan in a couple of weekends.

The night I first met her, I was drunk and we were at a bar with a band. She asked me if I wanted to dance. I said sure, but not alone. We couldn't get anyone else to go, so I said something like, "That's okay, I'm content just dancing in my head. I do it all the time." Since that point, she's been making fun of me for the comment. Don't other people dance in their head?

At one point, Felicity tells me, "For the life of me, I can't understand why you're single. You're easy-going, open-minded, handsome***, have a good job, fun to talk to, funny... I just don't understand!" I told her I wasn't desperate for anything at this point, that if something natural happened, then I'd be cool with it. She then said she might have to "naturally" invite one of her single female friends out with us one night. I concurred.

*** Felicity may have had beer goggles on at this point.

I also really enjoy her fiance, Randy. What a cool guy he is. He's also the guy I went out with on Thursday night with Nick, in yesterday's entry. I don't know what I called him yesterday, but it's definitely Randy from now on. I finally exchanged numbers with him last night, so I don't have to rely on Nick being the cog to our friendship.

Oh! I forgot the bet we made. Felicity and I bet that if Kentucky won the game last night, that I would spend rest of the night on a dance floor somewhere. If Maryland won, then she would have to buy me a beer. The latter occurred, of course, but it put a fun edge on the night.

Jay was also pretty funny. He got pretty drunk, and ended up hugging me at the end of the night. Ha!

Nick finally arrived at around 11:30, with his friend in tow. She was cool. I got a little dirt on him from college.

It was a great night! When I returned, I was feeling pretty good, and called Eleanor and left her a "Happy Birthday" message. I remember singing out on the backporch. I'm actually now just remember that I tried to do a parody of Marilyn Monroe singing "Happy Birthday" to JFK back in 1962. I sang "Happy Birthday, Mrs. Director of Public Policy for xxxxxxxxxxxx" instead of "Happy Birthday, Mr. President". I hope that Eleanor finds it amusing, and that she deletes it immediately. I probably woke up the neighbors, as I was on the backporch singing at 2am. (I know this makes me sound like I was really drunk, but I really wasn't - just goofy and tired and a little sloshed).

I then called Gale, and she and Eleanor were just coming in from a night on the town for Eleanor's birthday in Detroit.

We chatted for a while. I yelled at Eleanor for being interested in a 36-year old. They were pretty drunk; it was a fun conversation. Jeremy woke up and said I smelled like a bar, which I'm sure I did.

It was a very fun night that capped a long and stressful week. I love this town!