2002-06-14

Letter to student, posted at 3:04 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Dear Ken:

I wanted to let you know that I've genuinely enjoyed having you as a student this year. In fact, you've been one of my favorites - a student who consistently gives 100% effort and has an eagerness to learn that is both admirable and inspiring. Thank you.

The memories of you that I'll have from this year will mostly consist of me seeing you listening intently to what I was saying, and then seeing your hand raised whenever I asked for volunteers or thoughts. I loved your contributions to the class. You have a unique perspective on the the world, and I've loved to see that perspective developed over the course of this class. You also have a sense of bravery that I admire - no one else may know what you're talking about, but you'll still share your thoughts and then have the patience to explain yourself so everyone understands you. You have a perceptive, mature mind, Ken, and I look forward to seeing you continue to grow over the next three years.

This is the time of the year where a teacher is supposed to impart wisdom on his departing students. Here's mine to you, Ken: Keep that positive attitude. Maintain that desire to learn and to succeed that it's evident you have. You're a special kid, Ken... don't ever forget that. Consider taking pre-IB courses, as this will help you expand that mind of yours even more. I also think that you kow your grades dropped a bit from first quarter to second quarter this year, and I hope you prevent this from happening your sophomore year.

You've been an excellent student for me, and I look forward to seeing you continue to grow over the next three years, and seeing you walk across that stage in 2005. I wish nothing but the best for you, and I hope we meet again as teacher/student. Make sure you stop and visit next year!

Sincerely,

Mr. E