Friday, Jan. 03, 2003

Last year's resolutions... how'd I do?, posted at 11:17 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

In deciding what my New Year's resolutions would be, I thought it would be helpful to look at last year's to see how I did. I did okay...

1) Get down to 180 lbs.

Hmmmm... I'm at about 190 right now, though I doubtlessly gained probably five pounds over the holidays. My goal weight is now 175, which I think is attainable.

2) Read more.

I did a good job of this this year, clocking in at about ten novels. It is true that a few of them were books on tape, but I believe this to be the same thing as reading as long as the book is unabridged. I would like to do this more, though - when did I stop reading at night right before falling asleep?

3) Be better with finances.

I still struggle with this a great deal, but I'm slowly making inroads. I'm now actually writing down purchases and use of my debit card, and have figured out a system to pay off at least one of my two colossal credit card debts.

4) Get my stuff for class for the day ready during my planning period before I check e-mail and diaryland.

I wasn't as good at this as hoped, but still improved.

5) Continue making progress on the dating scene.

Well, I had more sex in 2002 than any other year of my life, but that's not saying much and they were the sort of hookups that I never got involved in in college and spent part of the summer making up for lost time by engaging in. I could definitely improve in this area. On-line personals have been fruitless, unsurprisingly.

6) Train Holden better.

Mission accomplished. Holden is one of the best behaved dogs I know. He could use more practice walking and needs to come a little more quickly when he's in a strange environment, but he is a wonderful, well-behaved animal and an excellent companion.

7) Join a class or a club of some sort in the community.

Softball league, soccer league, house concert series... mission accomplished.

8) Continue getting to know the city more and more - explore the (many) areas I haven't explored yet.

Still a work in progress

9) Keep my desk and classroom clean.

Didn't happen.

10) Be a mean bastard with my new kids from the get-go.

I do much better with this every semester from the start, then ease into my role as a nice guy a little too readily.

11) Purchase an adult sort of coat/jacket, a piece of cardiovascular exercise equipment that I will use everyday, and look into my upcoming puchase of a car in November 2002.

The coat was finally purchased the last week of December, the piece of cardiovascular equipment was trumped by a spontaneous gym membership, and the purchase of the car occurred in January after the old girl broke down.

12) Make this diaryland page look nicer.

The page has gone through this change, and there will probably be another one coming up.

13) Go to the independent movie theater more often.

Yes, but not as often as I'd like.