2002-02-11

The weekend - going out and a hangover, posted at 7:15 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

So the weekend was pretty good. On Saturday night, we did end up going out and having a good time - Jeremy and I, Nick, Michelle and Kristen, plus some of Nick's friends, including a couple from Michigan. We never made it to Howl at the Moon!, but instead visited places like Brewer's Art and the 13th Floor.

I got drunk. Probably the more I leave unsaid about that night, the better. I'm a little embarassed. I didn't do anything dumb like puke or pass out, but I definitely had my fill. It's damn liquor. I pre-drank before we left (I'm probably getting too old for that as well), having a cranberry/orange/absolut, and that's what did me in. I'm getting too old to drink liquor; I enjoy beer and probably should just stick to that.

Yesterday was pretty much a wasted day. I woke up at 11am or so, and my hangover was so severe that it hurt to be awake. I watched "Meet the Press" and then about an hour of the Animal Channel, but couldn't get myself hydrated because it grossed me out to even drink water. I went back to bed at around 1pm, and slept until 5:15. It was great; I felt totally rejuvenated at that point. I then had dinner (two Trader Joe's veggie burgers), had a great workout, and read "The Most Dangerous Game" for the first time since my sophomore year of high school in Mr. Weurding's class. I decided to do it today, because I'm trying to prep my kids to write an essay on the use of foreshadowing in Of Mice and Men, and that story has a lot of it as well.

While I was asleep, an FBI agent came to our house and questioned Jeremy and Josh about the disappearance of a woman three doors down back in 1998. Since we had only been there since September, we weren't very helpful, but it was weird nonetheless.

Last night, I enjoyed new episodes of King of the Hill, The Simpsons, Malcolm in the Middle, and Alias. I'm finding Alias more and more difficult to follow, especially when I miss a week of it, but I enjoy it nonetheless. I did enjoy the fact that last night, it had a more conventional ending of the episode than usual. There's only so many cliffhangers that one can tolerate.