Wednesday, Dec. 25, 2002

Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas, posted at 10:45 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I'm finding my favorite Christmas song this year to be "Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas," the Judy Garland version. I know nothing of Garland's work, save for The Wizard of Oz, so I thought nothing when a track of her singing the song appeared on a cheap Christmas CD I got last year (a compilation that also includes Tracy Bonham covering "You're a Mean One, Mr. Grinch" and the Jackson 5 doing their seminal "I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Clause").

It took me a few listens to understand the track's power, but now it hits me like a steam truck. First, there are the lyrics that so perfectly juxtapose feelings of hope and sadness: "In a year from now, our troubles will be out of sight... Next year, our troubles will be miles away" and the final stanza, which contains the kicker, "In a year we all will be together / If the Fates allow / Until then, we'll just have to muddle through somehow"

Then there is Garland's voice, which full of ache and yearning and sadness. There was a point on the way home from Baltimore, with Erin sleeping beside me, where I was nearly in tears from the song and had to listen to it on repeat. I can't believe its power.

I'm not sure why the song is so moving for me. In the past, "Blue Christmas" was the song that really knocked me out (I don't like Elvis' version, which is too made up of vocal tics... Sheryl Crow's version is alright, and Heart's is okay, but my favorite version of that song I've heard performed was on an episode of Picket Fences by these brothers who had just lost their mother... anyone know the episode I'm talking about? And when in the heck will they release that show on DVD?), and it's always been the sad but hopeful Christmas songs that I enjoy the most: "I'll Be Home for Christmas" (the line "if only in my dreams" is wrenching), Joni Mitchell's "Blue" (aka "It's Coming on Christmas"), "Happy X-mas (War is Over)" and a few others. I don't much like the happy ones - if I never hear "The 12 Days of Christmas Again," it'll be fine with me.

The weird thing is, I love Christmas. I don't find it a depressing time at all. While I still feel like there's something missing in mine, I just had a wonderful day with my family. Christmas is certainly my favorite time of the year, yet it's the sad songs that I like the most.

Judy Garland's version of "Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas" - with original lyrics (make sure it has the "muddle through" line) is incredible. I heard a version by Christina Aguilera the other day, and the only thing I could say was, "This girl has no idea what this song is about." She was screeching through it, oversinging every line, whereas Garland's version is subtle and wrenching. It's incredible - go listen to it.

I hope your day was wonderful.