2002-06-06

Fiona Apple, more, posted at 12:28 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I don't want to leave the journal on that last sour note, so here are a few more things:

****

The album of the week for me is Fiona Apple's When the Pawn.... Here's my proclamation for the week: this album is the best piano rock album ever. Passionate but not overwrought, pitch-perfect production, vocals that are smoky and smooth, clever songwriting... this is a fabulous album. I don't know why it's sat on my shelf so long since the last listen.

***

Currently, I'm also really digging albums by Dashboard Confessional's The Places You Have Come to Fear the Most, Lauryn Hill's Unplugged, and Joan Osborne's Relish.

***

Another proclamation: Andy Richter Controls the Universe is the funniest show on television. I've watched two episodes each in the last two weeks, and I cannot believe how much I laugh during them. The cast is very good and the writing is the best of any sitcom since Seinfeld in its heyday. But I think I'm most impressed with the tone and the rhythm of the show - it just feels so fresh and funny in a way that most sitcoms don't. In a way, it reminds me a little of the old FOX show Parker Lewis Can't Lose. I'm not sure, though. I just know it's fantastic.

***

I"m still not sure on what to name my cat. "Finny" is winning in the poll, but it's surprisingly close. I'm just not sure if Finny is grabbing me. Someone in my guestbook mentioned "Radley," after Boo Radley, and I liked this. Hugasoul e-mailed me to mentioned Gallagher, but that isn't grabbing me. I actually think my preference might be Tea Cake, but I've had four or five people tell me "anything but that" in my guestbook. I guess it's because he reminds me a bit of the loving-but-fierce character from Their Eyes Were Watching God. So I'm still not sure. I'll decide soon, though.

***

Holden and kitty got in a fight the other day, and I got scratched. It wasn't really a fight, but more of a chase. The only thing is, the cat was in my arms, and had to get away before it could become a chase. Ouch.

***

Isn't it Friday yet?