2002-02-07

Dirty 30 for 2002, posted at 12:29 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

My "Dirty Thirty for 2002," as copied from such folks as Barani, Pixie521, and Deena:

1. I will date someone. (gotta start somewhere)

2. I will not date someone who doesn't like dogs.

3. I will not date someone and focus too much on just their negative qualities.

4. I will not date one of my students. Even if "they be crushing on you real bad." (ewww...)

5. I will date someone who likes to go to the movies.

6. I will date someone who doesn't feel weird about going to a concert where 90% of the audience will be lesbians.

7. I will date someone who has patience.

8. I will not date someone who will have sex with me after knowing them less than a week.

9. I will date someone who is physically active and healthy.

10. I will not date someone who is quieter than I am.

11. I will date someone I would like to bring home to my family.

12. I will date someone who likes to go out with my friends.

13. I will not date someone who thinks vegetarianism is weird.

14. I will date someone who challenges me.

15. I will not date someone who succumbs easily to a battle of verbal jousting.

16. I will date a music or movie snob.

17. I will date someone who likes to try new things.

18. I will not date someone who is over 30. Because I'm shallow like that. Uh, let's make it 32.

19. I will not date someone who is under 22. Because I'm shallow like that.

20. I will not settle.

21. I will give myself a chance to get to know them enough before I could consider it "settling."

22. I will date someone who drinks beer.

23. I will date someone with passion.

24. I will date someone who listens.

25. I will not date someone who wears a "W.W.J.D." bracelet.

26. I will not date someone who makes fun of me for being tired at 11pm. That sort of clues me into the fact that we're at different points in our lives.

27. I will date someone who I can go running with.

28. I will date a cool artsy girl with funky glasses.

29. I will not not date someone just because they're not a cool artsy girl with funky glasses.

30. I will not date someone who smokes cigarettes regularly. Yuck.

Okay, that was sort of fun. I'm in the middle of my mammoth planning period right now. Things have gone well today, despite my lack of morning coffee. The kids' first paper (using the Bing Bang Bongo method, which I'd never heard of before, but is a sufficiently attention-grabbing method for writing a simple five-paragraph essay) is due on Monday, and today we worked on it. In preparation for our perusal of The American Dream as it related to the novels we will read this year, students are writing a persuasive essay in which they tell me what they believe to be the three most important American values. They had to rank them themselves (I have a list of 15), then they had to get into groups and form a consensus of the four most important and the two least important. I'm always leery of group work, but the kids did very well with it. It's been a very good day in here. I didn't even sweat it when an announcement came saying that the curriculum auditors were in the building and were randomly checking classrooms. They came and visited me for about a minute, saw that things were good, and left. Not bad.

Still trying to formulate weekend plans. It sounds like a group of us are going to this play on Friday night, as a colleague has the starring role. She's a full-time teacher, yet she still manages to star in what equates to a one-woman show - she has 90% of the dialogue in a 2-hour play! Gotta go reward that type of effort. We'll see how it goes. Nick and I also have tentatively made some plans, although it looks like it'll have to be Saturday night and not Friday. Which is cool, because it seems like I can never find anything to do on Saturday nights. He's such a cool guy. We're planning on getting a Orioles ticket package together this summer.

Gotta jam.