2002-02-13

Very tired... a concert tonight, posted at 8:00 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Wow, I'm tired. For some reason, I'm getting all insomniatic again. I was tired most of the day yesterday after getting just five or so hours of sleep on Sunday night, so I tried to take a nap upon returning home. I lay there for an hour, and couldn't fall asleep. So I went to bed at 11pm, and I know I heard my watch chime 1am before I finally drifted off. That's three hours that I spent yesterday just trying to sleep - freaking 12% of my day. Ugh.

So, yeah, I'm tired. And today is going to be a long day. After school is the baseball meeting, and since I'll be coaching I probably should be there.

Then, tonight, I'm heading with Michelle and Kristen (the two new teachers here I just befriended) to see Todd Snider tonight in Annapolis. There are some postiives to this. For one, I haven't been to Annapolis yet, and have been wanting to go. I also haven't been to this venue - the Boar's Head Tavern - and they seem to specialize in the type of singer/songwriter stuff I really enjoy. Plus, I get to hang out with new friends.

On the other hand, it's 40-60 minutes away and the show doesn't start until 9pm. It's going to be a very late night. I don't know much about Todd Snider, and despite Michelle's assurances that he's "awesome" live, I'm still leery. We're also going to eat at Kristin's parents' house, which could be awkward - I met Kristin for the first time on Friday night, so I barely know her. Has she mentioned that I'm a vegetarian? I hate to seem rude when I go there. I never know how to bring it up, although I know it has come up in our conversations over the weekend.

All of these cons would probably make me not go if I had it all over again to decide, but I wasn't really weighing the pros or cons when I was drunk off my ass on Saturday night. That's when I agreed to go. I guess that's another risk of drinking too much.

I'm trying to formulate weekend plans. It's a three-day weekend, and I hope I do something with my new friends here at work, but I do worry about friend burnout a bit. Not so much on my end, but on theirs. We shall see. There's a lot of movies I want to see, so I'll probably do some of that.