2002-07-28

Clingy shirt, posted at 9:00 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

This was a neat weekend, complete with a lot of "first"'s for me.

First, the goofiest "first": When Josh moved out, he accidentally left this plain grey t-shirt behind. I found it in a wad on the floor, weeks after he moved out. I wasn't sure it was his - it could have been one of my other moved-out roommates - but it seemed his sort of style. I decided to throw it in my laundry to wash it for him, and then return it. It was just a cheapo t-shirt anyway.

Anyhow, I washed it and put it away with my clothes. I decided I liked it, and still had some plans to return it, but decided to have some fun with it. So I wore it to Artscape yesterday. Then, I got into a conversation with him about it. I told him that I thought he might have left behind a plain grey t-shirt. I began describing it with a poker-face. Teri, Andie, and Renee knew the situation and were trying to hold in their laughs. Suddenly, Josh got this look of recognition on his face, cocked his head to the side like a confused and intrigued dog does, and realized that I was wearing the t-shirt I was describing. It was classic.

Anyhow, back to the "first" portion of this t-shirt story. This is the first time I've ever wore a shirt that could be described as... clingy. Yup, clingy. That's not a manly term for it, I realize, but it definitely was. I doubt I would have bought the shirt for myself, in fact. But I think I pulled it off. The women in the group said I did, although they might have been being polite. I'd pull it off even better if I didn't have such a gut. The shirt felt good around my shoulders, arms, and chest, but I was self-conscious about my midsection. But I believe those abs are in the process of coming. I think I saw them the other day, in fact. They were still mostly hidden by fat, but I could sort of hear them yelling, "Yo! Epiphany! We're on the way. Keep trying to convince us to come and stay with you longer than a mirage-like glimpse of a second!"

My other two firsts: watching Six Feet Under and Sex and the City. I finally got HBO this past week (in lieu of Six Feet Under's 23 Emmy nominations), and have been trying to get my money's worth. I'm actually trying to make a point of watching more television, because I've been spending far too much time online lately, and I think television is better for me because I can do other stuff while watching TV. Anyhow, I watched one rerun of Six Feet Under tonight, and was entranced. I think it's an incredible show. I don't even really know the characters yet, but can tell they're complex like real people. I was so into it. Sex and the City was just okay, but I'm going to give it more chances. Sarah Jessica Parker seems pretty cool.

Tomorrow starts the last week of summer school. I have to decide on gifts to buy for my students as they leave.