2002-07-07

Cleaning Day, posted at 4:14 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

It's 4pm, and I still haven't left the house today despite waking up at 8:20. Woo-hoo!

I've spent much of the day cleaning. Highlights included the following:

*Opening up the bottom cupboard in my kitchen that we never use and seeing a mouse in it. Upon further investigation, a lot of food at been chewed into - dry oatmeal and pasta lay strewn across the floor of the cabinet. I promptly got Tobey, to see what kind of a mouser he is. The mouse was trapped in the cabinet, so I put Tobey down in front of it and tried to make some noise so the mouse would scurry away and Tobey could pounce.

After about a minute, Tobey just looked at me cock-eyed, then sauntered away back to his nesting place on my desk next to the computer. (He's there now. Shhhh.) To be fair, Tobey didn't see the mouse, so I haven't given up on him yet. That's the first mouse I've seen since I got him, so I think he's done some good. I dunno.

*The above incident made me thoroughly clean the kitchen like I'd never done before. I threw away almost all the stuff in that bottom cupboard, even if it wasn't open. Much of it was two moves old, food that I probably would have never eaten anyway. My mother helped me out when I got my first apartment a while ago by unloading much of her pantry into my boxes. Well, at least the mice enjoyed the stuff.

*This little shit of a dog that I'm dogsitting for this weekend, a six-month old beagle puppy named Jasper, has pooped on my carpet three times. He also piddles every time I come home, and every time I tell him not to do something. He's also chewed up the bottom of my couch and one of my baseball caps. Luckily, he's sweet and knows how to calm down, unlike the last puppy I babysat for. Holden hasn't felt as terrorized this weekend as he did that weekend. I am anxious to see have this dog be taken home, though, as I need to go do laundry and I'm afraid that as soon as I go, they'll call.

That's about all that's new right now. As I mentioned yesterday, Nick and I are leaving tomorrow for that conference in NYC. It's going to be a great week. (Thanks to everyone who caught my Julia CHILDS error instead of Julia STILES. Ha! Good thing I didn't say she was hot, too.) I'm not sure how much I'll be able to update this week - expect an update next weekend at the latest.