Friday, Dec. 20, 2002

Christmas Break, posted at 3:56 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Just some quick thoughts, as I'm on the English department computer and don't feel comfortable journaling here. Though most everyone is gone already, as it's Christmas break as of 30 minutes ago.

***

I still don't have a computer. My home computer and then my school laptop broke down within 24 hours of each other. The laptop has been sent back to Gateway by the school to get fixed, and I'm praying that they can salvage all of my grades and assignments that are there. The home computer - the one I deleted some important files off of and now Windows won't start - is also in the Advanced Tech class, being worked on. None of the kids have been able to figure out, nor their teacher... I may just have to break down and bring that in to CompUSA or something. Shit. I've never had to service my computer before.

*

It's especially crummy because I just bought that CD burner with the intention of burning CDs for people for Christmas - partially a money saving plan - and now it just looks like I bought myself an expensive toy right before Christmas.

*

I played Troy Maxson of Fences all week, and it was a blast. The kids loved it. I was only going to play him in the first scene as we read through the play, but the kids enjoyed it so much that they begged me to reprise the role every class period. One of my colleagues was kidding me, calling me a spotlight hog, but it was still well worth it. The kids were so into that play, and me running around the room yelling and getting into it probably had something to do with it. By the time Thursday came, I had figured out which kids were the best actors as well, and we were a Tony-worthy cast.

The play is also a little raunchy. And the kids loved to hear me speak ebonically as some of the dialogue called for. Fun stuff.

*

I can't wait to be home. Today - a party holiday day - was so long and tough. The kids were off the wall.

I need to get out of here. Sorry so disjointed. I miss journaling, and have so many things running through my head right now that I can't make sense of it all.