2002-09-09

The cafeteria is the battlefield of the heart, posted at 8:05 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

There's a 9th grader in my 4/5 period who is scared of the lunchroom. She's asked me every day if she could stay in my room during her lunch period rather than go down there. Today, she even complained she was hungry.

"Why don't you go down and get something?," I asked.

"I'm not going down there," she replied, a look of fear overcoming her face.

So she's sat in my room every day during lunch, quietly doing her work while I run errands, check my e-mail, and fetch my coffee. I probably should have nipped it in the bud, but it's been nearly a week now, so she might be there to stay.

So, today, I made her grade papers. Ha.

I shouldn't complain. She's a sweet kid, and I'm sure she'll grown out of this phobia. She says she's too quiet, and has no friends here, and doesn't like the heated, crowded cafeteria. It reminds me of when Claire Danes said, "The cafeteria is a battlefield of the heart" in My So-Called Life. Because it is. I don't think Ebony shares the same tortured romantic dramas as Angela Chase did - yet - but she's well on her way.

Today, I asked her why she didn't ask Brandon - the kid she talks with during class - if she could sit with him during lunch. "Well, Mr. E, he probably sits in the cafeteria," she said. She stated it like it was a simple fact, that there was no question at all. Poor kid.

I'll continue to put her to work, though.

Not much else is new. Margaret Cho is coming to town, and her new movie dropped into town on Friday, and I'm dying to see either or both. The thing is, I want to go with someone who is going to love it as much as I am, someone to roll in the aisles with and laugh until our sides hurt. It's time like these where I definitely wish I had a group of gay male friends to go with, or, at the very least, Hugasoul, who seemed to enjoy the preview to the film as much as I did when we were seeing The Good Girl.

Oh well.

No school tomorrow, as they use the schools for election booths. Great, eh?