Thursday, Mar. 13, 2003

Bob Segar, the poet, posted at 7:23 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

It's Thursday night, and, against my better judgment, I am going to a 10pm showing of Talk to Her tonight, complete with an hour of tapas and sangria beforehand. I really need it.

This has been a long ass week. I just retuned home and had a message from my landlord, who was "distressed" because my check to her had bounced and my old car has not yet been moved out of the garage. Both are my fault. The check bounced because the money had been deposited, but because of the bank's shitty 5-day out of state rule for checks, the check from my new roommate had not cleared. The car is not yet moved because of the snow that had been in front of the garage, but that had pretty much dissipated by the weekend so now I have no excuse. I am such a shitty person with money or responsibility of any kind beyond my things I am passionate about - my career, my students, my house concerts, my insane Tiger fandom, my education, my loved ones.

I'm selfish and I'm sad. I'm going to go and lose the best baby that I ever had.

Sorry, broke into Joni Mitchell mode for you a little there. My landlord is about 80; she's not my baby. But she's nice and I can't believe I've now bounced three checks to her in the two years I've lived here. Luckily it has never gone beyond the one phone call and subsequent resubmitting, and she does not get a charge for it, but it still makes me feel bad. I pretty much write only one check a month and I should be able to make sure it is going to clear. It is difficult to afford an $800 check though when my roommates are both writing me smaller checks that have to clear. Another problem is that I have too many things happening automatically to my account and it's tough to keep track. I could see this bounce coming from tracking it online every day, and was praying that she would submit it today rather than yesterday. Alas it didn't happen. And now she's distressed. And I'm distressed.

This is after a great day that saw me leave school for an hour to run to Kinko's to laminate a poster for my students. It (shockingly) cost me $15, but it turned out nicely. The weather was beautiful and reminded me for the first time that spring is here. I was in the miniature college town area of the Johns Hopkins campus in Charles Village, and the quirky music shop and snarky coffee shop made me drift into a wave of MSU nostalgia. I got a 6-inch Blimpie's sub, rolled down the window in my car, and resisted the urge to flip the station when Bob Segar's "Night Moves" song came on. I was swept up in a moment when I forgot that my life has been staggeringly busy lately and full of meetings and minutia and mediocre lessons. I need something to help me gain perspective, something to clear my head.

Yup, Epiphany is getting drunk this weekend.

By the way, to the person (205.215.134.20) who keeps signing my guestbook and calling me gay: I could care less that you're calling me gay, but it pisses me off to go into my signmyguestbook account and delete your homophobic messages. If I see another one, I'm deleting the guestbook. I don't need any more battles, and feel no obligation to have a guestbook on this site. Folks can just sign the notes section if necessary (Anonymous messages annoy me, anyway). So you will ruin it for everyone with your anonymous insults. So fuck off and don't come back.

By the way, I don't think I've ever used that word combination out loud, and doubt I ever will.

This is apparently one of my rare bad moods, people. I'm outta here to irresponsibly stay out late drinking spanish wine and seeing a foreign film with a married couple in their forties. No wonder I can't find someone to date.