2002-10-31

Halloween, posted at 5:14 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Happy Halloween, and Happy 22nd Birthday, little sister.

What a long day. Sometimes it's very exhausting to be a "cool" teacher. I brought in candy today, and let my kids bring in food and drink as well. It wasn't just a party day, though; we still had stuff to do. Do you know how difficult it is to teach while kids are distracted by twix bars and cheese whiz? (Yes, someone actually brought this stuff. I told them it looked like something I would use to plug up holes in my carburator.)

Despite the day's toughness, it was still fun. I dressed up like Curley from Of Mice and Men, complete with a flannel shirt, faded jeans, boxing gloves slung over my shoulder, and a band-aid across my cheek. I wore the latter because Curley was a fighter, and figured he would have gotten a cut or something, but I thought it would be pretty funny to tell at first kids who asked that I was Nelly. Nelly always wears a band-aid on his cheek.. I was right, the kids cracked up every time I said it while walking the hallway.

I also wore a rubber glove, because Curley always wore a glove filled with Vaseline on his hand to keep it soft for his wife. I didn't actually put Vaseline in it, just carried around a canister (my first ever canister, which I bought this morning on the way in).

The other 9th grade English teacher dressed up as Curley's Wife, and it was pretty funny. About fifteen minutes into every one of her classes, I would leave my class real quickly and head to her room across the hallway. I would open up her classroom door in a rage, and shout, "Anyone seen my wife?" and ask kids if they'd seen her. The kids - who I didn't know, as they're her students - were all laughing as soon as they figured out what was going on. "Curley's Wife" would start saying, "I was just talking to 'em, Curley" and I'd say, "I don't like you talkin'" in this big dumb voice, and it was just a lot of fun.

That being said, I feel spent. Our house didn't get any trick-or-treaters last year, and I'm hoping there will be none tonight, as I don't have any candy. Holden has a costume, and that would be fun to show off to kids, but I'm thinking they're not going to come. I'm hoping to make it to the gym, to try to jumpstart my energy level a bit. I've not been good about going in the last few days, and it's beginning to concern me.

***

Kathleen Kennedy Townsend was down 4 points in the polls yesterday, and 1 point today. I'm starting to get concerned. What is up with people? I really don't understand how someone could vote for a man who voted against a repeal on assault weapons, amongst many other questionable decisions. What am I missing? His whole platform is basically, "I'm a man, and I'm more charismatic than KKT."