2002-05-22

I love 24, posted at 9:15 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I'm writing to you, still in a bit of shock over what transpired last night on 24. I can't believe Teri is dead. Who killed her? Was it a miscarriage, or was she shot? Is there another mole in CTU, or did Nina do it before she attempted to escape? What will become of the presidential race, with David Palmer apparently kicking his wife out of the campaign and his life?

Woah.

That show provided me so many thrills this year. I saw every episode except one. Even though I like Frasier and liked the one episode I saw of Scrubs, I never watched them this year. Tuesdays at nine were taken up by 24, which I consider one of the best TV series ever.

Best ten TV series of my lifetime:

1. Picket Fences, seasons 1-3

2. My So-Called Life, season 1

3. 24, season 1

4. The West Wing, seasons 1-2

5. Friends, seasons 2-6, 8

6. LA Law, season 2-6

7. Party of Five, seasons 2-3

8. Ally McBeal, seasons 1-3

9. Sports Night, season 1

10. Seinfeld, seasons 1-8

I bet I'm forgetting a couple (where are ER, Homicide: Life on the Street, The X-Files, Newsradio and The Simpsons?), but that's off the top of my head.

***

Despite the HSA tests that have eliminated many of my students from my classes, it's been a stressful week. I'm not even sure why. One reason is that I've got nothing done, and the fact that I could have gotten things done this week and haven't makes me stressed. I still have the same amount of papers to grade today as I did on Monday, which sucks. I haven't done any of it, despite my slightly slower schedule.

In addition, yesterday I felt sick all day. I won't get into the details, as it's gross, but something I ate did not agree with me and I was counting the minutes until the end of last period. I was out the door within 15 minutes of the final bell, which is quite uncommon for me.

It's definitely been a long week already, and it's only Wednesday. I was so exhausted yesterday - for reasons unknown to me, as I've been sleeping regularly - that I went home and took a two-hour nap, and then went to bed again after The Real World, or as I like to call it, 30 More Minutes of Hating Kyle.

***

Okay, so here's a question: I had always thought that Ninny and Idgie were the same person in Fried Green Tomatoes. But now I'm not so sure. I've become such a student of that film, after seeing it three times in the last two days.

Evidence that they're the same person: Pictures of Ruth all over Ninny's nursing home room, the fact that she knows the story so well, the fact that the honey and card appears on Ruth's gravesite at the same time as Ninny returns home.

Evidence that they're not the same person: Ninnie tells Evelyn that Sipsie tells the story of Frank Bennett's death to her (Ninnie) on the night of Sipsie's death. Why would she need the story told to her if she was Idgie (Idgie was involved)? Either Ninny is lying, or Ninny and Idgie are not the same person. In addition, the 3rd person referral to Idgie at the end is just a little too thick for me. Also, apparently they're not the same person in the book, although I've never read it.

I gotta go. I must get through this stack of papers. If I spent as much time grading as I did journaling, I wouldn't be nearly as stressed as I am. But I think I'd be more stressed if I didn't journal, so maybe it balances out.