Tuesday, May. 10, 2005

Field fix, posted at 6:41 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

When we arrived at the baseball field today, there was a dump truck in the middle of it. Apparently the work order to fix our field - and the softball field, which hasn't been able to host a home game all season - finally has been recognized, and the potholes in the outfield and rivets under the bases will be fixed. Now, of course, we have no more home games and today will probably be our last practice, depending on what our playoff schedule looks like. That's when they decide to fix the field. This would be funny if it weren't so sad.

We went to the batting cage, and I threw BP for an hour before cutting them loose. I'm tired. They're tired. It's the time of the season when we've been doing this for nearly two-and-a-half months and it's begun to wear on us. Every day until 7pm or so. Last night, I was dropping kids off at 9pm - imagine what time I got home. On top of getting my cell phone stolen yesterday, that was an exhausting day. Today was less so, but I'm still tired. I came home early today with lofty thoughts of planting some more flowers and taking Holden for a walk, but instead have just sat at my computer, eating cereal and checking baseball stats, blogs, e-mail, and the news. I've got the Yankees game on in the background, because I'm happily obsessed with my fantasy team and picked up their pitcher Wang the other day. The Tigers play at 8. I've got the Orioles game on the radio. I'm about to plan tomorrow's lesson. Then it will be back to bed, and we'll do it all over again tomorrow. And the next day. I do very little socially any more and my workouts have gone to pot. Yeah, I think I'm ready for the season to be over.

In other news, I've made a buzz in the department by writing a letter to the principal about our terrible scheduling situation and actually giving it to her.