Monday, May. 02, 2005

Baseball, posted at 7:33 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

This post is all about baseball.

1. Wow, it sure was a shitty day for baseball for my kids. First, it was it cold, windy, and rainy. Then, one of my seniors hit a line drive off of the opposing pitcher's mouth. In all my years of playing ball, it was my first time (in person) witnessing a pitcher hit like that. The kid was a tough one built like a bear, but he went down for the count. He lost at least one tooth that we dug out of the mud, and I held the towel on his cheek until the paramedics arrived. Blood was gushing from his mouth and falling onto the clumps of clay on the pitching mound in gobs. His coach thinks his jaw was shattered. I'm hoping it's just teeth. Either way, it was scary but the kid was stoic throughout and went to the hospital. We played for another inning until the umps called it because of weather.

2. My Tigers are playing the Red Sox right now. I'm having a hard time deciding which of the blasted Red Sox I hate the most. Is it Johnny Damon, with his hair, his I'm-an-everyman-but-my-hair-looks-like-Bon-Jovi-and-I-post-photos -of-my-honeymoon-on-espn.com, his "Will I retire or accept a 6-year contract this winter?" posturing? Or is it Curt Schilling, who feels the need to offer his opinion on everything, from the Tampa Bay Devils Ray management to voting for George W. Bush. Too bad his mouth can't go on the DL when he does.
Hmmmmm... someone help me out.

3. I'm really loving the fact that the O's are ahead of both the hated Red Sox and the (almost) equally hated Yankees. I still think they'll probably finishing third, but if Eric Bedard and Sydney Ponson can maintain their strong starts throughout the year, their offense is going to hold them up. Roberts, Tejada, and Matos are all playing over their heads right now (although I'm with the prognosticators who say Tejada is the best player in all of baseball... he was my first pick for my fantasy league), but Sosa is playing under his head, so they'll continue to score lots of runs.

4. I cannot believe Steve Kline. What an asshole. (By the way, I can't believe there aren't better - i.e. more updated - Orioles blogs than that one. Anyone know any, or a discussion forum?)

5. I accidentally benched Scott Kazmir on my fantasy team tonight. I hope just a little bit that the Yankees clobber him so I look like a prescient genius for not having him in the lineup.