Tuesday, Apr. 26, 2005

Miscellaneous April Updates, posted at 12:56 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I'm still working at the restaurant, although only intermittedly. During baseball season, it's one Sunday brunch shift a week, and that's it. But tonight we had our menu meeting, meaning the chef prepares all the new dishes for us to try. We also get to have wine pairings with each.

The meeting was as good as that sort of thing sounds. It's not everyday that you get to try eight gourmet dishes and give your opinion on them. It was really cool.

Afterwards, we headed to Gecko's for a bar tab covered by the owner. I drank until I had my fill, wished it was a Friday night instead of a Monday night, and headed home. I actually don't remember the last time I headed out on a weekend night; I should do that more often. Tonight, I spent all night with the beautiful Polish girl, who I realize more and more that I have very little in common with but still wish I could put my arm around her and have a little more fun with. Actually, I had a good time hanging out with much of the staff, many of whom I've now known for almost two years. I was hired there in August of 2003, meaning I'm approaching two years of working there. I'm still right in the middle of seniority - 4th amongst our staff of eight - and am close with a few staff members and am getting there with the newer ones. The British party animal girl is crazy; she grabs my butt and calls me "baby." (But she's married - go figure.) Erin moonlights at Trader Joe's, so I know her pretty well. They're a good bunch, which is a big reason why I've never just up and quit there. The money is nice on occasion, and working only once a week, it's tough to complain about the hours.

Life is good there, and overall as well, as the days in my classroom have been well-planned and rewarding. Romeo and Juliet and Macbeth are both "good teaches," as my colleague next to me says. I'm finishing up Macbeth and just starting Romeo and Juliet.

Oh, by the way, my ballteam won 4-1 tonight. A great game all around. My sophomore pitcher who looks 12 years old (my oversized uniform for him contributes to that) didn't allow a run until two outs in the last inning. We now stand at 5-4, with our next game on Friday. I'm really trying to get folks to that game, as it's a day we have off of school and I don't think we'll have much of a crowd. So if anyone wants to come, let me know.

In other news, I'm trying to grow a goatee, and cut my hair on my own over the weekend. A kid asked me, "Is your hair supposed to be like that?" and I answered, "Why, yes, why do you ask?" even though I didn't know what he was talking about.

Today was my mother's 51st birthday. Yes, I remembered to call.