Wednesday, Apr. 13, 2005

Loss, posted at 11:33 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Well, we lost. The final score wasn't that close, but the game was pretty close. A couple key plays going the other way, and we would have won. But can I say how much I hate the opposing team? Let me count the ways:

1. I hate the way they tried to intimadate us by kneeling on one knee up the foul line while we were doing infield. I just wanted to hit a shot up the line at them to see them scatter.

2. I hate the fact that they have cheers.

3. I hate the fact that the coach was snide about how they kept up their field (they have a grounds crew) and that's why they haven't had any rainouts.

4. I hate the fact that their team is almost all white, and they are a city school.

Yeah, maybe I'm a little bitter. I'm really reaching on that last one. I think I'm just more incredulous about it. I thought the team must have been re-routed from Towson or something.

So it was sad, but the guys tried hard and didn't play a bad game. A bases loaded triple came within a foot of being caught, and that would have changed the whole scope of the game.

Friends who came to watch the game took me out to Charles Village Pub afterwards. I saw Eebmore coming out of Eddie's and had a noncoherent conversation with him, and now I'm home, exhausted and unsure what to do for first period tomorrow. I'm in a limbo between To Kill a Mockingbird and Romeo and Juliet.