Saturday, Apr. 09, 2005

Bills, posted at 11:16 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

What a depressing morning. I decided to pay my bills before I headed out to the gym, and checked my account first. My coaching money was not included in yesterday's paycheck for some reason, and so my idea of going out today and buying a washer and drier is way out of the question. Then I started opening the bills. BGE sucks, cold weather sucks, and paying bills sucks. The total amount for the house for one month - Feb.10-March11 - was $330. I keep the first floor and my bedroom cold, too. That was the cheapest month of the winter. Since I couldn't pay the full amount the previous month, today's payment was excruciating to make. Not to mention the Dell payment, the car insurance payment, and the car payment. I now not only can't buy a washer and drier, I barely will have money for groceries. I'm actually happy I work at the restaurant tonight and tomorrow, because I need to.

This is mostly a product of the emergency cat surgery, I guess. That $800 isn't something most people could absorb without feeling it pretty heavily in the coming month or two.

And so it goes. Things happen, and they're unplanned, and since I've never been able to keep a savings account, they hurt. I don't think I'll ever be okay on money until I get married and have someone else bringing in a salary and also helping through the summers. That's what people at work keep telling me, at least.

At least it's spring and the day looks beautiful today.