Sunday, Mar. 27, 2005

Florida update, posted at 2:08 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Just a quick update from a Holiday Inn in Lakeland, FL, where my grandparents and I are staying and hoping to spot Detroit Tigers walk through the lobby. Serendipitiously, the hotel is the official winter home of the Detroit Tigers, and my friend who stayed here a few weeks ago said she spotted Chris Shelton, Jason Grilli, and a few other also-ran Tigers. We'll see. Tomorrow it's off to see them play the Houston Astros right around the block at Joker Merchant stadium.

It's been a good vacation so far. I visited Tobey at the animal hospital on Friday before I left. Cats are sometimes hard to read, but Tobey isn't one to keep his cards close to his chest; it was clear by the mewing I heard in the lobby, the subsequent lionlike purr and the near knocking over of the cage to get into my arms that he was happy to see me. So very thankful that Fool saved his life, and trying not to think about the fact that the money it will cost is going to make a washer and drier much harder to purchase. Anyhow, the roommate picked him up and is administered the antibiotics while I'm gallavanting across Terri Shiavo-land, so I'm very happy and thankful about that.

I spent time with my college roommate Jason this weekend. Flight delays and a security scare prevented me from seeing the our alma mater beat Duke on Friday night; I was supposed to get in at 4 o'clock but didn't get in until nearly 10. Still, I was wearing my Spartan garb, and folks gave me updates as soon as I exited the plane. When we finished off the night at BW-3, our favorite bar in college, it was like old times anyway. Yesterday, we headed to the one touristy thing I did while in Orlando - the cheap-ish Gatorland, with Jason's 18-month old son in tow. We walked around Downtown Disney afterwards, but didn't spend any money except on dinner; the trip has been mercifully cheap so far.

Jason drove me the half hour to Lakeland this morning to a Cracker Barrel, where I met my grandparents, who traveled from Venice Beach. We're heading to the Tiger game tomorrow, and then back for a few more relaxing days in Venice Beach (where I'm sure the average age of the population is about 65... not much craziness will ensue on this trip). I fly back on Wednesday, with a layover in Atlanta, and am set to get back at 7:10 - hopefully in time for my rescheduled live fantasy draft at 8:30.

The vacation has been good so far - relaxing, inexpensive - and hopefully will continue to be so. I'm looking forward to having some days at the end of spring break back in Baltimore, to get my shit sorted out there a little bit - I need to figure out how to choose my summer classes, and need to figure otu some things to do with getting a mortgage.

Life is good.