Wednesday, Mar. 09, 2005

Seven Eleven Cold, posted at 5:24 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I could never be a woman in this cold house. The very reason I've held my impending dump is because I know the toilet seat will be frigid when I sit down on it. In fact, I'm thinking of taking my gym trip early, just so I can go to the bathroom there. I'm not generally a fan of the public dump, but public is better than frigid.

My bones are cold. I think I've figured out why I've been all about the afternoon nap lately; my bed is the only warm place. It's weather like this in March that makes me question the existence of God.

It's so cold that I'm actually going to let the heat stay on while I go to the gym. I may be cheap, but I'm not stupid.***

I love 7-11, particularly my local 7-11, the one across from the Hamilton post office on Harford Road. I walk in there every day, often twice, to get my coffee. The workers are always the same: Mohammed, who I once saw at 5:30am and 11:30pm on the same day; Frecklewoman, who I think nows i guzzle coffee but once gave me a new travel cup for only the 83-cent refill price because I visit everyday; Leaner, an old man who leans on the coffee counter who doesn't tattle on my guzzling because I think he does it too; Smokie, a young middleeastern kid who doesn't much like Mohammed, who is the owner; and Moustache man, who doesn't know English that well but is very polite. I like Mohammed and Frecklewoman the most. Mohammed, whenever he sees I've been waiting too long in line, grabs my stuff in front of others and has me pay my 83 cents quickly so he can move on. He also smiles a heck of a lot. Frecklewoman has a quiet intensity about her refilling of coffee pots that sometimes scares me, but she's pretty deadpan about things, and I like that.

I wonder if I'm the only one who switches back and forth between Howard Stern and Diane Rehm? It reminds me of the time I found my Dar Williams CD in my Eminem case.