Thursday, Feb. 17, 2005

Good days, posted at 3:52 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

If anyone would like to hear why I love my job so much, simply come to my House Concert on Friday and listen to messages #2 and #5 on my home answering machine. I have given my home number to students and parents to contact me - it's more convenient than finding an open line at school, and they're the only people that have it, as I use my cell phone for everything else. Two of my favorites from this year, Mike-Mike and Diamond, have called me twice. They're always together (although they're feuding now... I told Diamond today that I got her and Mike's message and she told me, "Oh yeah. That was when we used to be friends"... the message came in on Sunday) and are a hilarious couple of kids. Both, first of all are just witty, funny people. Diamond is whip-smart with a sense of comic timing that most comediens could learn from, and the juxtaposition of her 4'10" size and big (big) mouth always makes me smile. Actually, laugh out loud. Mike-Mike is a very dramatic (some would say flamboyant) kid who is one of the loudest students I've ever taught. He can't be quiet even for a second, until I say something like, "Michael, do I have to ask you to leave before the rest of the class can enjoy this essay?" And he'll apologize and then be quiet for about five minutes. Luckily, I cannot ever stay mad at him. He's so funny that he had to give a presentation earlier this year and I couldn't stop laughing. It was horrible and unprofessional, but I had to excuse myself, and when I returned, it was only by biting my cheeks and thinking of my grandfather's funeral that I got through. There's just something about him that is so comical, and he's always smiling and laughing, and that's certainly part of it. He's contagious. He also talks with such an exaggerated hand and arm movements, finger snaps, and even hands-on-his-hips sass that lines that would seem mundane coming from others are hilarious coming from him.

He's gay; he came out by introducing me to his boyfriend and later writing a "coming out" essay to me. While I generally think 14 is too young an age to know this, I have no real reason for thinking this, and it certainly was not a suprise. And Diamond, I guess, is his "fag hag."

They're a couple of my favorite students, and they have left me the two funniest voice mail messages I've ever heard.

Other classroom happenings from the last two days:

* A freshman boy was staying late after class. He's usually too cool for help, even though he got a 45% in my class last quarter (better for the semester). He's nice, though, and I like him, and am pulling for him to get his stuff together. I asked him if he needs any help. He looks at me quizzically, and I ask him why he's staying after class. "Oh, excuse me Mr. (E), I had to pass a little gas back here."

* Today in 5/6 period, I felt so faint that I thought I was going to fall down. It happened all of a sudden; I got dizzy and had to sit on my knees. I went and got some water, and came back and began teaching. I lost my balance, had to grab a hold of a desk, then regained composure. One kid rushed and got me a chair and I didn't get up for like an hour. It was weird, but passed after I went to bathroom and splashed cold water on my face. When I returned, I was soaking wet, and one girl told me I looked like I was insane, and called me Dr. Moreau for the rest of the period.

* Today in 7B, I made my kids line up in order of birthdate without saying a word. It was a spur of the moment decision, designed just to put them into groups, but it was one of the highlights of my weeks, watching them. So funny. I loved every minute of it.

* I called Eugenia Collier today. She's the author of "Marigolds," one of my favorite short stories, which we teach at school. Despite the fact that she's a fairly major published author, published in textbooks across the nation, she's in the phone book, believe it or not. She was sweet and is coming in to speak with my class on March 9, though I have to pick her up.