Monday, Jan. 03, 2005

Story of my life, posted at 6:40 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I thought this was kind of funny/sad.

Okay, so this cute girl came to my house concert on Friday. Cute and a good conversationalist. We talked about music and movies and she seemed great.

So, this week I decide to act on it. I didn't ask her for her number at the house concert because there never seemed a good time - always a bunch of people around, and I was worried that she might have been with another guy who was there. And, let's face the truth, I just wasn't drunk enough. So, I e-mail a mutual friend afterwards, the one who brought her. Now, understand this is not my usual thing, although it probably should be. I think it's because I'm working out all the time that I had the confidence even to do this.

Anyhow, here's my e-mail:

> Just a quick e-mail to thank you very much for coming to the house concert on Friday, and for talking it up (afterwards). Glad you had a good time.

And, thanks for bringing people!

Also, I had to ask: what is the status of your friend _______? I did not know if she was with your other friend or not (if so, you can ignore my request here), but is she single? If so, I'd be really appreciative if you might be willing to pass on her e-mail to me. She seemed really cool.

Sorry, I hope that's okay to ask that.

Again, thanks a lot for coming and hope to see you again soon.

So, here was the friend's reply in my mailbox today:

Hi (Epiph),
it was my pleasure. Thanks for having us. I put Patti's CD in the car changer that night when I left and I've been rockin' to it all week!!

As for my friend ______--she does happen to be single...but sorry, you're the wrong gender for her :-)

Hope to see you at another house concert.

Yup, story of my life.

I probably should have known, since she liked Melissa Ferrick. But I'm not a lesbian, and I like Melissa Ferrick! Although when I did tell this story to my lesbian friend Rose today, also telling her that this woman was a Melissa Ferrick fan, she shook her head with her mixture of bemusement, good humor, and sympathy and said, "Oh, (Epiph)." She then asked if this girl might be her type. I told her she wasn't her type. The two of us (maybe more) are going out on Saturday night and getting drunk so I can explain to her what I meant by "her type."

Getting back to my original story, this just proves the freqently expressed theory that I'm a lesbian trapped in a man's body.

I'm going to go back in my car where, I kid you not, I was blaring a Tracy Chapman CD on the way home. Maybe I'll go rent The L Word tonight. (That last one is a joke. I've actually never seen that show and have no desire to do so even though it starts one of The Murmurs. But, I really liked the movie High Art. But mostly because I thought Ally Sheedy was really hot in it. I also really like Ellen DeGeneres.)

Shit, maybe I am a lesbian. But I doubt if many lesbians get to a moment in their lives when their only two options for tomorrow are to do laundry or buy underwear, because that's where I'm at right now. Truth be told, I Febreze-d a pair that seemed okay for today.

This is definitely an entry where I shared way. too. much. Sorry about that.