Monday, Jan. 17, 2005

NY Times, posted at 12:40 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I'm back from NYC.

Observations:

- The Chinatown Bus was, for $35 round trip, the easiest, best way to travel there. It took three hours, to the minute, from the moment I was picked up at the Baltimore Travel Plaza to get dropped off in Chinatown. This is a trip I should make every couple of months.

- That is, if my wallet could stand it. I didn't even pay for an expensive Broadway show (spent $26 on tickets to see August Wilson's play Gem of the Ocean, starring Phylicia Rashad), and still ended up dropping a couple hundred dollars.

- I drank a lot of beer. My favorite stop was McSorley's, the famous Irish pub. Hopefully I'll head there every trip I make to the city. The character of the place - sawdust on the floor, rude servers, selection of just light and dark beer - is like another person sitting at the table with you. I'm sure that place could tell stories.

- It was great to see old friends and have a really good time with them.

- I like NYC.