Wednesday, Dec. 29, 2004

This break, posted at 10:09 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Things I have done this holiday break:

1. Received three sweaters, some books, and a new comforter from my parents for Christmas.

2. Drank a whole bottle of merlot by myself on Christmas day and accidentally passed out.

3. Read a lot of White Teeth.

4. Watched three different versions of the film Frankenstein and thought about concocting a movie vs. novel quiz that the kids will take while watching the Branagh version.

5. Went to East Lansing last night and hung out with old friends (Jason, Gale, Erin), psuedo-relatives (aunt tonja, shad) and my sister at BW-3, Harper's, Peanut Barrell, and The Temple. Got really drunk and took Big Daddy Taxi home.

6. Saw The Aviator today. Liked it. It's neat to see people depicted who are so demanding, so flawed, so ambitious. The film had a very dissatisfying ending, though.

7. Felt dirty for shopping at Wal-Mart so much. But it's just so damned cheap. For example, I got three months' worth of Creatine for $30.

8. Contemplated buying a treadmill. If I do well on New Years Eve, I will, because I feel like the restaurant has made me pretty unhealthy and it will be paying me back a little bit.

9. Did a ton of laundry.

10. Worked out hard, twice.

11. Went on the Internet a total of three times in six days. Felt good.

12. Watched a ton of The Wire.

There's something about distancing myself from my life that gives me perspective about it. I know this happens to everyone, but I break from my routine so seldomly that there's a rush of insight that is rare for me. So much of this journal, and my life in general, is about what happens, about the small stuff, the day to day garbage. I need to gain insight on the whole thing a little bit better. I hope I remember that in about two weeks, when I'm back on the regular schedule. I need to step back and take more breaks. If I don't, I'll be stuck in this rut (being single, working too much, living unhealthily) for a long time.

I'm leaving for Baltimore in the morning. It's been a good break.