Wednesday, Dec. 08, 2004

Wine cures the whine, posted at 11:24 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Well, work at the restaurant - my 5th consecutive night there, by the way - was alright. The money basically sucked, as I made $46. But I found a good way to deal with my shitty week: drink a shitload of red wine. I sampled our house merlot, our house cabernet, our house pinot noir, our house shiraz, and our house zinfindel. Then I sampled them all again. It was a good night. Zack, my good friend who tends bar, partook with me. So did Dennis the chef. And life was pretty good.

It strikes me as funny the alternate existence I live over there at the restaurant. At school, I have a sign on my wall about racial and cultural putdowns, how they have no place. At the restaurant, I bring in a mixed christmas CD I made with Hootie and the Blowfish singing "The Christmas Song." Zack takes one look at it and says, "Hootie and the blowfish, eh? You big homo." And it's funny. What can I say. I crack up. I then argue that my inclusion of Judy Garland singing "Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas" is way more gay than Hootie and the Blowfish. He disagrees. I tell him that ten percent of the population owns Cracked Rear View, although I do not. He tells me that doesn't matter, just look at the election, the majority of people cannot be trusted. I agree. Then we drink.

That wasn't a very good story.

A better story is in this week's City Paper, about a former student of mine. Astute followers will know who I'm talking about.

I'm a little drunk still. Off to bed.