Wednesday, Dec. 08, 2004

Stop this week, I want to get off, posted at 12:04 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

* I made $83 tonight at the restaurant. There are currently only three servers at the restaurant, which means I worked Mon, Tues, Wed, Sat, Sun this week. That's full time. I'm not complaining too much though because I really need the money.

* I've broken out the Christmas ties. I hope I don't peak too early with the holiday gear.

* One of my favorite students had to quit the swim team today because she discovered a cyst on her ovary that made it hurt for her to walk. The doctors don't know what it is. I'm concerned. She's this hyper-responsible and mature girl that I went on the Outward Bound trip with, and is one smart cookie.

* A lot of the older teachers at our school, male and female, call students with pet names. Male students are "bud" or "man" or, I kid you not, "bub." Female students are "sweetheart" and "sweetie." I don't really engage in this. On occasion, I'll be talking to a male student one-on-one and say, "No, man, look closer at the text" and use the word "girl" when I want to say something with a light touch ("What are you talking about, girl?"). But, I'm finding myself getting more comfortable using these pet names with other teachers while talking about students. It's always with positive connotations ("Oh, Tanika? Yeah I had her last year. She's a sweetheart"). I'm worried it's a slippery slope.

* I cannot believe that Frank Sinatra wanted to change the line from "We'll have to muddle through somehow" to "Hang a star upon the highest bow." What a freaking cop-out. Thankfully, Judy Garland didn't listen, so her pained version works. If you hear that song with that second lyric, immediately change the station. You don't want to encourage them.

* I had my kids read Genesis and the story of Prometheus today. That's a first. We're looking at creation stories along with Frankenstein. The kids were nervous about the former. One kid said, "I'm worred, aren't you going to get in trouble for this?" I tread very lightly on the subject matter. It was an interesting experience.

* I somehow was convinced over the summer by a guy selling in my grocery store that I needed to subscribe to the Baltimore Sun. Now, I rarely have time to sit and read a newspaper and read it online when needed, but I decided to do it anyway. Well, they pile up, I rarely read them, and, when I do, I'm disappointed because the Sun is a shitty newspaper. When I go tot eh gym, I work on an eliptical machine and spend about 12 minutes reading through teh entire shitty newspaper, if I'm lucky. That's probably during baseball season. In the winter, I scan the sport section for baseball news (winter meetings are this weekend and I'm pumped) and MSU Spartan results, and that's it. The rst of the paper is crummy. And I hate the stupid get-four-different-newspapers for Sunday thing. Anyhow, I haven't paid the bill and am wondering when eventually they'll stop delivering and get the hint. I ordered them on a trial basis so one would think that they would stop soon. They haven't. They just sit in my way as I leave.

* It's 12:22am. I've made it to the gym before 6am both days this week. I'm not sure if that's going to happen tomorrow. I have to work again tomorrow night, the third night in a row.

* I'm getting drunk on Friday.