Sunday, Oct. 24, 2004

October/November Happy Hour, posted at 9:31 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I've thrown up in three bars in Baltimore. The first was two years ago at The Spy Club, this old mansion converted into a fairly swanky bar just a few steps from the Washington Monument, which was hosting its annual lighting ceremony that night. I went with a bunch of friends, and we went to Sascha's beforehand and each had two beers and a shot of Jack Daniels. We broke for the lighting ceremony, then headed over to Midtown Yacht Club, where we had a few more beers and headed up to dance at Spy Club. I was feeling good and that December of 2002 was probably the healthiest I've ever been and looked, so I was all over the place, flirting and dancing and touching and feeling more than a little bit silly about the hot - hot - art teacher who had joined us that night (the first and last time she's ever gone out with us...). Well, I got a bit ahead of myself and got sick in the bathroom. It wasn't one of those where you could just puke and be fine afterwards. I remember being on my knees with tears in my eyes, and not quite getting to the toilet in time, and vomiting all over my shirt. I had to take off my shirt, revealing only a wife-beater underneath. (Although, you must remember, I looked damn good in a wife-beater twenty pounds ago.) The bouncer knew what was going on and I was asked to leave. I hailed a taxi in the frigid December air wearing just that wife-beater. Kicked right on out. I guess you can read all about it firsthand here and here.

The second time was at Hull Street Blues about a year and a half ago. I had spent much of the night pre-drinking almost an entire bottle of cheap red wine at my buddy's who lives a block away, and we decided to head over to play a game of shuffleboard. Right when I got there, the immense amount of alcohol combined with my not eating dinner made me vomit upon arrival. No one noticed, though I told Ryan about it. I was golden after that and continued drinking and even won at shuffleboard, but definitely took advantage of his offer of the couch rather than drive home.

The third time was this year, on my birthday, at The Vineyard in Federal Hill. It's new, and there is no website, so I very well may have been the first person ever to vomit in this restroom. Incidentally, it was also the women's restroom. I was told this after the fact. The less said about that night in August, the better.

Four years, three public vomits. When will the next one be? Could it be this month's Baltimore Blogger Happy Hour, which I'm finally getting off my ass and planning?

In talking with a bunch of folks, I think Thursdays might be bad. In addition, I'm heading out for the better part of a week from Nov. 9-13 to go camping with students. So... I'm going to shoot three days at you and I'd like to cement the date by the end of this week:

Date choices:

Monday, Nov. 15

Tuesday, Nov. 16

Wednesday, Nov. 17

Bar choices:

Red Star, Fell Point (Atmosphere is like a ski lodge, has pizzas, drinks somewhat expensive but may have good specials during the week. New and cool.)

Thirsty Dog Pub, Federal Hill (My favorite bar in Baltimore, I talk about it all the time and never get sick of it. Only hindrance is location. Cheap, good beer and great food. Also, I will bring Holden if we go here.)

Lulu's Off Broadway, Fell's Point (Has the best Dark 'n' Stormy's in town. Eclectic bar food, much fancier than you'd think. Sort of dingy inside, bills itself a 'rock n roll' bar. Owner is hilarious. Has Resurrection Ale.)

I love all of these bars and would recommend all highly. Post your vote here on the comments for or e-mail me your picks for both the dates and the bar.