Wednesday, Oct. 13, 2004

Lord, please dry up this river of essays, posted at 3:41 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

There are so many of them. I cannot believe it.

Really busy this week. I work at the restaurant two days during the week, plus my additional two days during the weekend. That, and I had my first essay due. And I'm being a really tough grader. Only about half the kids are passing their first essay, but I'm offering a re-write.

120 kids at ten minutes an essay - that's 1200 minutes and I don't even want to figure out how many hours that is out of school. I've gotten about half of them back, though. Not too shabby. Hopefully I can whip through another 20 tonight at the restaurant. Ideally, it'll be dead from 5-7, then have a nice pop between 7 and 10, and no one will walk in after 10 so I can walk out at 11 on the dot. That's about what happened last night, although 11 on the dot was actually 11:15 and I was so tired this morning that I couldn't make it to the gym in the morning.

At one point, though, the chef came out and saw me meticulously grading an essay (I had no tables at the time). He read the essay, looked at me, and said to me, "Epiphany, you do not get paid enough to do the work you do." And it was so out of character for him to say that, that it really made me feel good, and I told him, "Yeah, that's why I have a second job, I guess." Nice moment, though.

So, I've decided to enroll at Towson this spring. They're going to take 18 of my 24 MSU credits - not too shabby.