Friday, Oct. 01, 2004

Last O's game, posted at 11:55 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Tonight, I went to the Orioles game. It was my 14th and last game attended this season, and I had the best seats I've ever had. That's the beauty of going with a cute girl who waits tables at a popular Republican bar and who befriended a guy there who works as a seat checker in the section right behind home plate. We were hooked up.

I sat on this gorgeous October night and gazed out onto the field, then into the lights of Baltimore that shine in between the warehouse and the upper deck in left field. This dissonance of "should I stay or should I go now?" rang in my head like the Clash song, and I thought about how much I do really like Baltimore, about how this ability to go to a ballgame on a whim isn't the type of thing that I would want to lose.

I've done a lot of things with singles this week. Wednesday, I went to J's birthday party, and four of the attendees were my age and single. It's good to do that, and I need to do it more often. Seeing single people happy and together is probably the better model for my life right now than happy married people with newborn babies.

J invited me to the ballgame tonight because her friend who she got the tickets with was going with her family, and she knewe I was a huge baseball fan, and it was nice to hang out. We talked a bit, and it's nice to hang out with a cute single girl, even though I know nothing will happen with it. It's interesting to hear her perspectives about men. Like, she says she met this one guy she dated at the gym. So, I ask her, "You talk to people at the gym?". I was incredulous because I am borderline unfriendly when I'm at the gym; I'm very focused just what I need to do and usually I'm tired. She said that, no, she didn't talk with him at the gym, but that she saw him later at a bar and that's how their conversation started. So, I guess the key is to check someone out at the gym, and then hope to run into them elsewhere. My problem is that I work out in the suburbia of White Marsh and Towson with the upper crust of the Baltimore region, then I go out to bars in Canton and Federal Hill.

And I don't do that often enough because I live too far away from downtown and I'm always working. Maybe a move in the city is what I need to get out of my current funk.

Actually, I'm thinking just one night free, to myself, might be what I need. I might have one sometime in the next ten days, although I sort of doubt it. Tomorrow I work. Sunday I work all day then have a raquetball game. I play whiffleball on Wednesday. I'm sure I'll have to work on either Monday or Tuesday night. Life is busy right now. Mostly good busy, but overwhelming in many ways as well.

Need to sleep.